Open mobile menu

Solomon, Williams Highlight Honorees at Yellow Jacket Celebration

April 23, 2018

Photo Gallery

THE FLATS – Georgia Tech athletics recognized the achievements of its student-athletes over the past year during its annual Yellow Jacket Celebration on Monday evening at the Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center.

Men’s cross country/track and field’s Nahom Solomon headlined the honorees, taking home four awards, including the Male Athlete of the Year. Solomon earned all-America honors in cross country last fall and carried the success into track season, where he has broken a slew of school records, including Georgia Tech’s all-time marks in the indoor and outdoor 5,000 meters.

Georgia Tech track and field swept the Athlete of the Year awards, as Jeanine Williams claimed the honor on the women’s side. Highlighting her accomplishments this year, Williams won the 2018 ACC championship in the 60-meter hurdles and was a part of Georgia Tech’s shuttle hurdle relay team that posted the ninth-fastest time in NCAA history at this spring’s Florida Relays. Williams claimed a total of three awards on Monday night.

At tonight’s Yellow Jacket Celebration, our student-athletes brought books to donate to children at Hughes Spalding Hospital 📚@childrensatl #TogetherWeSwarm

— Georgia Tech Sports (@GTAthletics) April 24, 2018

The full list of awards handed out at the Yellow Jacket Celebration include:

Female: Women’s tennis’ Nami Otsuka and Kenya Jones (combined singles record of 48-9 and doubles record of 39-15 as freshmen in 2016-17
Male: Baseball’s Austin Wilhite (freshman all-American in 2017)

Female: Women’s track and field’s Marinice Bauman, Kenya Collins, Raven Stewart and Williams (ninth-fastest shuttle hurdle relay time in NCAA history)
Male: Men’s track and field’s Nahom Solomon (shattered 46-year-old school record in outdoor 5,000 meters, besting the previous record by more than 10 seconds)

Women’s tennis over No. 1 North Carolina, 4-3 (March 24, 2018 in Chapel Hill, N.C.)

Male: Golf (2018 ACC champion, currently ranked No. 5 nationally)
Female: Women’s tennis (currently ranked No. 3 nationally)

The Georgia Tech Spotlight Awards recognize one student-athlete from each team whose contributions to his or her program go far beyond the scope of athletics.

Baseball — Robert Winborne
Men’s Basketball — Sylvester Ogbonda
Women’s Basketball — Martine Fortune
Cheer — Josh Mellott
Men’s Cross Country — Nahom Solomon
Women’s Cross Country — Mary Claire Solomon
Football — Tre’ Jackson
Golf — Michael Pisciotta
Softball — Isabella Many
Women’s Swimming and Diving — Lila Best
Men’s Swimming and Diving — Leon Warnakulasuriya
Women’s Tennis — Victoria Flores
Men’s Tennis — Zummy Bauer
Women’s Track and Field — Marinice Bauman
Men’s Track and Field — Alex Grady
Volleyball — Simone Spencer

The ACC Top 6 for Service awards are presented annually to six student-athletes from each ACC institution who demonstrate dedication to community service and outreach programs.
Georgia Tech recipients: James Clark (golf), Alex Grady (men’s cross country/track and field), Angelica Henderson (women’s track and field), Bria Matthews (women’s track and field), Josh Okogie (men’s basketball) and Abbey Yates (women’s swimming and diving)

The ACC Weaver-James-Corrigan and Jim and Pat Thacker postgraduate scholarships are awarded to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient will receive $5,000 toward his or her postgraduate education. Those honored have performed with distinction in both the classroom and their respective sport, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.
Georgia Tech recipients: Alex Grady (men’s cross country/track and field), Angelica Henderson (women’s track and field), Michael Kay (men’s tennis) and Kel Johnson (baseball — honorary recipient)

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 GPA for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.
Georgia Tech recipients: Nahom Solomon (men’s cross country/track) and Jeanine Williams (women’s track and field)

In its inaugural year, the Thomas Lozano Inspiration Award is given in honor of Thomas Lozano, who was an inspiration to all Georgia Tech student-athletes through his passion, loyalty, support and work ethic. The award is given to one student-athlete who exemplifies the qualities best displayed by Thomas.
Recipient: Sylvester Ogbonda (men’s basketball)

The Bobby Dodd Scholarship is given to one male and one female returning student-athlete with a 3.0 GPA or higher. Each recipient must have lettered in his or her sport at least one year and they must both exemplify good citizenship and participation in community service, outstanding sportsmanship and dedication.
Recipients: Parker Braun (football) and Jeanine Williams (women’s track and field)

Established in honor of L.W. “Chip” Roberts’ family, the award is given to one male and one female graduating senior. Both must be the top student-athlete in academics, athletics and campus life, while possessing a 3.0 GPA or higher and an outstanding athletic record.
Recipients: Emily Anderson (softball) and Kel Johnson (baseball).

Given to one student-athlete that demonstrates leadership qualities on the playing field, in the classroom, and in the community.
Recipient: KeShun Freeman (football)

Given to applaud the athletic accolades of some of the nation’s best student-athletes.
Recipients: Nahom Solomon (men’s cross country/track and field) and Jeanine Williams (women’s track and field)

Given to one male and one female student-athlete who are graduating or within 20 hours of graduating. Recipients have to be in good academic standing; lettered at least two years; achieved ACC, regional or national recognition or awards; made significant contributions to his or her team; and possess the attributes of the Total Person (career ambitions, family relations, health consciousness, self-motivation and community involvement).
Recipients: Kira de Bruyn (women’s swimming and diving) and Alex Grady (men’s cross country/track and field)

For the latest information on the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets, follow us on Twitter (@GTAthletics), Facebook, Instagram or visit us at


February 21, 2020 Four GT Student-Athletes Named ACC Postgraduate Scholars

Flood, Li, Otsuka and Bartlett recognized for academic and athletic achievement

Four GT Student-Athletes Named ACC Postgraduate Scholars
February 13, 2020 Podcast: From the Flats (Episode 46)

Wiley Ballard talks to BSB head coach Danny Hall and assistant WBB coach Brandy Manning

Podcast: From the Flats (Episode 46)
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets