Open mobile menu

Albertson Named ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

June 25, 2015

Greensboro, N.C. – Senior Anders Albertson has been named Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year, and all five members of Georgia Tech’s starting five for the NCAA Championship have been named to the ACC All-Academic golf team, announced Thursday by the conference office.

The 2015 ACC All-Academic Golf Team

It is the third time in four years that the Yellow Jackets’ entire post-season starting five has made the team, and the fourth straight year that five Tech players have been named to the team. This year’s team included Albertson, the ACC co-medalist, Ollie Schniederjans, the ACC Player of the Year, sophomore Vincent Whaley and freshmen James Clark and Chris Petefish. They finished ninth in the NCAA Championship, won the ACC Championship for the eighth time in 10 years and won four events for the year.

The Scholar-Athlete honor for Albertson caps a year in which he was named to the All-ACC team for the fourth time, won the ACC title for the second time in his career, won the Byron Nelson Award, given to the nation’s top graduating senior based on their entire academic and golf career, and was named to the Capital One Academic All-America team. He won two tournaments in the spring and finished the year ranked No. 37 in the Golfweek/Sagarin Index and No. 49 in Golfstat. He, along with Schniederjans, played for the United States team which won the Palmer Cup, and graduated with high honors in business administration.

It is the fourth time a Tech golfer has been named ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year, joining Schniederjans in 2014 and James White in 2011 and 2012. The Scholar-Athlete of the Year is named after Rod Myers, Duke’s men’s golf coach from 1973-2007. Albertson and Schniederjans were named to the ACC All-Academic team for the fourth time in their four-year careers. Schniederjans also received his bachelor’s degree in business administration on May 2.

The ACC began naming an academic all-conference team in every sport in 2005-06. Honorees must achieve a minimum 3.2 grade-point average and be a front-line participant in his or her sport. Since 2012, Tech has had five players named to the All-Academic golf team each year, and those five have made up the Yellow Jackets’ NCAA Championship starting five in three of those years.

2012 – Anders Albertson, Bo Andrews, Ollie Schniederjans, Richard Werenski, James White (ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year)
2013 – Anders Albertson, Bo Andrews, Seth Reeves, Ollie Schniederjans, Richard Werenski (did not play in post-season)
2014 – Anders Albertson, Bo Andrews, Seth Reeves, Richard Werenski, Ollie Schniederjans (ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year)
2015 – Anders Albertson (ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year), James Clark, Chris Petefish, Ollie Schniederjans, Vincent Whaley

Georgia Tech’s golf team has completed its 20th year under head coach Bruce Heppler. The Yellow Jackets have won 16 Atlantic Coast Conference Championships, made 28 appearances in the NCAA Championship and been the national runner-up four times. Connect with Georgia Tech Golf on social media by liking their Facebook page, or following on Twitter (@GT_Golf). For more information on Tech golf, visit


May 27, 2020 Around the Green with Bartley Forrester

Noah Norton chats with the redshirt freshman from Gainesville, Ga.

Around the Green with Bartley Forrester
May 26, 2020 Georgia Tech #ProJackets Golf Report

Qualifying cancelled for U.S. Open and other USGA events

Georgia Tech #ProJackets Golf Report
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets