Open mobile menu

Castro Earns First-Team All-America Honors

June 5, 2005

Atlanta – Georgia Tech’s Roberto Castro, who finished third in the NCAA Championship and led the Atlantic Coast Conference in stroke average, has been named a first-team All-American by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

The GCAA announced its 10-man PING All-America team and its national awards Saturday following the NCAA Championship.

Castro, an honorable mention All-American last year as a freshman, becomes the ninth Yellow Jacket to earn first-team honors and first since Troy Matteson in 2003. The sophomore from Alpharetta, Ga., who is a member of the United States team for the Palmer Cup matches later this week, also earned All-ACC honors and finished the year with a 70.86 average, the sixth-best in Tech history.

The third-place finish at the NCAAs was the best of his career for any tournament. He had seven other top 10 finishes in 12 tournament this year, including a tie for third at the Oregon Duck Invitational and a tie for 10th in the ACC Championship.

Also making the PING All-American team were Ryan Blaum of Duke, Rhys Davies of East Tennessee State, Florida’s Matt Every, Anthony Kim of Oklahoma, NCAA medalist James Lepp of Washington, New Mexico’s Spencer Levin, Martin, Moore, Aron Price of Georgia Southern and Pepperdine’s Michael Putnam.

Ryan Moore of UNLV received the Jack Nicklaus Award presented by Dillards Inc. and Hartmarx Corp., which is presented to the outstanding player in Division I golf. Moore won three events this season and led the nation in stroke average. Lepp won the Outback Steakhouse Arnold Palmer Award after winning a three-hole playoff to earn medalist honors at the NCAA Championships. It was Lepp’s second victory of the season after tying for first at the Oregon Duck Invitational.

Pablo Martin of Oklahoma State was named the Phil Mickelson Award winner, which is given to the nation’s outstanding Division I freshman golfer. Martin claimed medalist honors in two events during his freshman campaign and finished in the top 10 on six other occasions.

The Eaton/Golf Pride National Coach of the Year Award was presented to Georgia’s Chris Haack. He led his team to an 11-stroke victory at the NCAA Championships. In addition to claiming the national title, Haack led the Bulldogs to two other tournament victories this season.

Jack Nicklaus Award -- Ryan Moore, UNLV

Arnold Palmer Award — James Lepp, Washington

Phil Mickelson Award — Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State

Eaton/Golf Pride National Coach of the Year — Chris Haack, Georgia

PING All-America Team Ryan Blaum, Duke Roberto Castro, Georgia Tech Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State Matt Every, Florida Anthony Kim, Oklahoma James Lepp, Washington Spencer Levin, New Mexico Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State Ryan Moore, UNLV Aron Price, Georgia Southern Michael Putnam, Pepperdine


Men's Golf Georgia Tech #ProJackets Golf Report

News and notes from the Yellow Jackets in professional golf

Georgia Tech #ProJackets Golf Report
Men's Golf GALLERY: Freshman Golfer Carson Kim

California freshman played in all but one event for the Yellow Jackets

GALLERY: Freshman Golfer Carson Kim
Men's Golf GALLERY: Senior Golfer Bartley Forrester

Five-year stalwart in Tech lineup completed excellent career in spring of 2024

GALLERY: Senior Golfer Bartley Forrester
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Legends Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets