Open mobile menu

Lamprecht Named to Haskins Award Watch List

Columbus, Ga. – Georgia Tech golfer Christo Lamprecht is among 25 college golfers who have been named to the watch list for the 2023 Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel, given annually to the top college golfer in the nation by the Haskins Foundation in Columbus, Ga.

The rising Yellow Jacket junior is concluding a standout summer amateur season by representing his home country of South Africa this weekend in the World Amateur Team Championships in Paris, France. The George, South Africa native also competed for the winning International team at the 2022 Arnold Palmer Cup in Switzerland, where he won three of his four matches. He also finished ninth in the 2022 European Amateur Championship and advanced to match play at the 2022 U.S. Amateur, finishing sixth in the 36-hole stroke-play qualifier.

Collegiately last spring, Lamprecht was named a third-team All-American by Golfweek magazine and an honorable mention choice by the Golf Coaches Association of America. He also made the All-Atlantic Coast Conference team and finished the spring No. 27 nationally in both the Golfstat collegiate rankings and Golfweek/Sagarin Index.

He led the Yellow Jackets to five tournament victories in 2021-22, including a share the title at the NCAA Columbus Regional, as well as a runner-up finish at the ACC Championship and a 12th-place finish at the NCAA Championship. He logged six top-10 individual placements in 12 events and led the team with a 70.22 stroke average, third-best in program history.

Four Georgia Tech players have won the Fred Haskins Award – David Duval in 1993, Stewart Cink in 1995, Matt Kuchar in 1998 and Bryce Molder in 2001. All went on to stellar careers on the PGA Tour.

Celebrating its 53rd year, the Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel has been given to players who have captured 33 major championships and more than 400 professional tournaments around the world. Past recipients include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Ben Crenshaw, and Justin Thomas. Chris Gotterup (Oklahoma) won the 52nd Haskins Award in 2022. The Fred Haskins Award is the oldest individual college golf award and the only award to be voted on by players, coaches, golf SID’s, and select golf media. Golf Channel and Golfweek are media partners for the Fred Haskins Award.

Preseason Haskins Award Watch List (listed alphabetically):

  • Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech
  • Sam Bennett, Texas A&M
  • Fred Biondi, Florida
  • Michael Brennan, Wake Forest
  • Ben Carr, Georgia Southern
  • Ricky Castillo, Florida
  • Adrien Dumont de Chassart, Illinois
  • Mateo Fernandez de Oliveira, Arkansas
  • David Ford, North Carolina
  • Nick Gabrelcik, North Florida
  • Austin Greaser, North Carolina
  • Christo Lamprecht, Georgia Tech
  • Bryce Lewis, Tennessee
  • Dylan Menante, North Carolina
  • William Mouw, Pepperdine
  • Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt
  • Cole Sherwood, Vanderbilt
  • Brian Stark, Oklahoma State
  • Preston Summerhays, Arizona State
  • Caleb Surratt, Tennessee
  • Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford
  • Hugo Townsend, Ole Miss
  • Travis Vick, Texas
  • Patrick Welch, Oklahoma
  • Jiri Zuska, Louisville

Alexander-Tharpe Fund

The Alexander-Tharpe Fund is the fundraising arm of Georgia Tech athletics, providing scholarship, operations and facilities support for Georgia Tech’s 400-plus student-athletes. Be a part of developing Georgia Tech’s Everyday Champions and helping the Yellow Jackets compete for championships at the highest levels of college athletics by supporting the Annual Athletic Scholarship Fund, which directly provides scholarships for Georgia Tech student-athletes. To learn more about supporting the Yellow Jackets, visit   


Georgia Tech’s golf team has completed 27 years under head coach Bruce Heppler, winning 70 tournaments in his tenure. The Yellow Jackets have won 18 Atlantic Coast Conference Championships, made 31 appearances in the NCAA Championship and been the national runner-up four times. Connect with Georgia Tech Golf on social media by liking their Facebook page, or following on Twitter (@GTGolf) and Instagram. For more information on Tech golf, visit


Men's Golf Ben King, Camille Trotman Named ACC Postgraduate Scholars

Christo Lamprecht and Carol Lee selected as ACC Excellence Award winners

Ben King, Camille Trotman Named ACC Postgraduate Scholars
Men's Golf VIDEO: On the Range with the Yellow Jackets, Pt. 9

What music do you listen to when you practice?

VIDEO: On the Range with the Yellow Jackets, Pt. 9
Men's Golf GALLERY: Georgia Tech at the Watersound Invitational

Scenes from all three rounds of Tech's second event of the 2024 spring season

GALLERY: Georgia Tech at the Watersound Invitational
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Legends Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets