Open mobile menu

Tringale, Hadley Make All-ACC Golf Team

May 5, 2008

ATLANTA – Georgia Tech’s Cameron Tringale and Chesson Hadley have been named to the 2008 All-Atlantic Coast Conference golf team, selected by a vote of the league’s head coaches and announced Monday by the conference office.

Tringale, a junior from Laguna Niguel, Calif., made the team for the third time, while Hadley, a sophomore from Raleigh, N.C., is honored for the first time. Tech, Duke and Florida State each placed two players on the 12-man team, and this is the 11th consecutive year that at least two Yellow Jackets have been named.

Tringale, who automatically made the team in 2006 when he won the conference individual championship, is currently ranked 33rd nationally in the Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index. He ranks sixth in the ACC with a 71.69 stroke average and has four top-10 finishes.

Hadley, the nation’s ninth-ranked player, leads the conference with a 70.79 stroke average and has five top-10 finishes this year.

Wake Forest’s Webb Simpson was an automatic member of the ACC team as the 2008 ACC individual winner and also secured the prestigious Player of the Year award. North Carolina freshman Kevin O’Connell was named Freshman of the Year as well as securing a spot on the All-ACC team. Trey Jones, who guided Florida State to its first ACC team title in golf, was named ACC Coach of the Year.

The Seminoles were represented by senior Jonas Blixt and junior Matt Savage, who have now been named to the All-ACC team in each of the last two seasons. Duke’s first-time honorees included senior Michael Schachner and junior Clark Klaasen.

Rounding out the 12-member team are Kyle Stanley, a second-time honoree from Clemson; Matt Hill, a freshman from NC State; senior Jurrian van der Vaart from Virginia Tech and Chris Gold, a junior from Maryland.

2008 All-ACC Men’s Golf Team
(Listed alphabetically by school)

Kyle Stanley, Clemson, So., Gig Harbor, Wash.
Clark Klaasen, Duke, Jr., Grand Rapids, Mich.
Michael Schachner, Duke, Sr., Libertyville, Ill.
Jonas Blixt, Florida State, Sr., Hammaro, Sweden
Matt Savage, Florida State, Jr., Louisville, Ky.
Chesson Hadley, Georgia Tech, So., Raleigh, N.C.
Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech, Jr., Laguna Niguel, Calif.
Chris Gold, Maryland, Jr., Haddonfield, N.J.
Kevin O’Connell, North Carolina, Fr., Cary, N.C.
Matt Hill, NC State, Fr., Bright’s Grove, Ontario
Jurrian van der Vaart, Virginia Tech, Sr., Almelo, The Netherlands
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest, Sr., Raleigh, N.C.

ACC Player of the Year — Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
ACC Freshman of the Year — Kevin O’Connell, North Carolina
ACC Coach of the Year — Trey Jones, Florida State


Men's Golf Tech Golf Tied for 6th Place at Watersound Invitational

Lamprecht and Forrester pace No. 12 Yellow Jackets in round 1

Tech Golf Tied for 6th Place at Watersound Invitational
Men's Golf VIDEO: On the Range with the Yellow Jackets, Pt. 8

What's your favorite snack to have while playing golf?

VIDEO: On the Range with the Yellow Jackets, Pt. 8
Men's Golf Tech Golfers Compete in Watersound Invitational

No. 12 Yellow Jackets head to Florida Panhandle for second spring event

Tech Golfers Compete in Watersound Invitational
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Legends Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets