Open mobile menu

Ogletree, Schniederjans Semifinalists for Nicklaus Award

Norman, Okla. – Georgia Tech’s Andy Ogletree and Luke Schniederjans are among 30 semifinalists for the Jack Nicklaus Player of the Year Award, announced Monday by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

Nicklaus Award recipients will be announced May 30 with the honor presented by Jack Nicklaus at a ceremony during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide at Muirfield Village Golf Club. In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the five recipients will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA TOUR’s Barbasol Championship, held July 18-21, at the Champions at Keene Trace in Lexington, Ky. The Barbasol Shootout will be held Saturday, June 1 at The Ohio State University Golf Club’s Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio – the same club where Jack Nicklaus played collegiate golf for the Buckeyes.

Both Tech student-athletes were honored on the All-Atlantic Coast Conference team last week, Schniederjans for the third time in his three years on The Flats, and Ogletree for the first time. Ogletree is ranked No. 14 nationally in Golfstat, Schniederjans No. 19.

They have led Georgia Tech to a nation-leading six tournament victories in 2018-19. Ogletree (junior, Little Rock, Miss.), with four top-10 finishes in spring tournaments, leads the Yellow Jackets in stroke average at 69.96, less than 2/1,000th of a stroke ahead of Schniederjans (junior, Powder Springs, Ga.), whose five top-10 finishes leads the team. Both players are competing this week with Georgia Tech in the NCAA Pullman Regional in Pullman, Wash. Tech won the Atlantic Coast Championship in April for the 18th time.

Division I Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol Semifinalists

  • John Augenstein, Vanderbilt
  • Eric Bae, Wake Forest
  • Chandler Eaton, Duke
  • Blake Elliott, McNeese State
  • Steven Fisk, Georgia Southern
  • Stephen Franken, NC State
  • Will Gordon, Vanderbilt
  • Cole Hammer, Texas
  • Viktor Hovland, Oklahoma State
  • Philip Knowles, North Florida
  • Peter Kuest, BYU
  • Patrick Martin, Vanderbilt
  • Collin Morikawa, California
  • Bryson Nimmer, Clemson
  • Andy Ogletree, Georgia Tech
  • Kaito Onishi, Southern California
  • John Pak, Florida State
  • Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M
  • Trent Phillips, Georgia
  • Jovan Rebula, Auburn
  • Matthias Schmid, Louisville
  • Luke Schniederjans, Georgia Tech
  • Sandy Scott, Texas Tech
  • Alex Smalley, Duke
  • Scott Stevens, South Carolina
  • Justin Suh, Southern California
  • Matthew Wolff, Oklahoma State
  • Brandon Wu, Stanford
  • Cameron Young, Wake Forest
  • Chun An Yu, Arizona State


Georgia Tech’s golf team is in its 24th year under head coach Bruce Heppler, having won 59 tournaments in his tenure. The Yellow Jackets have won 18 Atlantic Coast Conference Championships, made 28 appearances in the NCAA Championship finals and been the national runner-up four times. Connect with Georgia Tech Golf on social media by liking their Facebook page, or following on Twitter (@GTGolf). For more information on Tech golf, visit


May 27, 2020 Around the Green with Bartley Forrester

Noah Norton chats with the redshirt freshman from Gainesville, Ga.

Around the Green with Bartley Forrester
May 26, 2020 Georgia Tech #ProJackets Golf Report

Qualifying cancelled for U.S. Open and other USGA events

Georgia Tech #ProJackets Golf Report
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets