Open mobile menu

Morrow to Participate in NBA All-Star Three-Point Contest

Feb. 16, 2012

What: Foot Locker Three-Point Contest
When: Feb. 25, 8:30 p.m. ET (3rd event)
Where: Amway Center, Orlando, Fla.
TV: All-Star Saturday Night coverage starts at 8 p.m. ET on TNT

Morrow’s NBA bio

New York, N.Y. – Former Georgia Tech star Anthony Morrow has been selected to participate in the NBA’s Foot Locker Three-Point Contest, which will be held on Saturday, Feb. 25, at Amway Center in Orlando as part of NBA All-Star Saturday Night.

Morrow, in his fourth NBA season and second season with New Jersey, is averaging 13.9 points per game this season and hitting 41.7 percent of his three-point shots for the Nets. He has played in 28 games, starting 18.

The 6-5 native of Charlotte, N.C., played at Tech from 2005-08 and finished his career as the Institute’s 19th all-time leading scorer with 1,400 points. He was an undrafted free agent signee of the Golden State Warriors, with whom he played his first two seasons in the NBA.

Reigning champion James Jones of the Miami Heat will defend his 2011 title against All-Stars Joe Johnson of the Atlanta Hawks and Kevin Love of the Minnesota Timberwolves, Ryan Anderson of the hometown Orlando Magic, and Mario Chalmers of the Heat.

Last year, Jones bested a field that included the Boston Celtics’ Paul Pierce and Ray Allen — Pierce captured the title in 2010, while Allen, the 2001 winner, is the career leader in 3-pointers made. Jones’ 20 points in the final round topped Pierce’s 18 and Allen’s 15.

Former Georgia Tech All-American Mark Price is among six NBA players who have won two or more three-point contest titles. Jeff Hornacek, Jason Kapono, Price and Peja Stojakovic who won two titles each; while Larry Bird and Craig Hodges each captured three straight.

The players will compete in the two-round competition with the top three finishers from the first round advancing to the finals. Five shooting stations will be set up around the three-point line, with four Official Spalding NBA game balls worth one point each and one Spalding NBA All-Star 2012 commemorative red, white and blue “money ball” worth two points at each location. Each player will have one minute to shoot as many balls as he can. In the final round, players will shoot in ascending order of first-round scores. At the discretion of the referee, television instant replay may be consulted for clarification of rules compliance.

FOOT LOCKER THREE-POINT CONTEST YEAR-BY-YEAR WINNERSYear    Player1986    Larry Bird, Boston1987    Larry Bird, Boston1988    Larry Bird, Boston1989    Dale Ellis, Seattle1990    Craig Hodges, Chicago1991    Craig Hodges, Chicago1992    Craig Hodges, Chicago1993    Mark Price, Cleveland1994    Mark Price, Cleveland1995    Glen Rice, Miami1996    Tim Legler, Washington1997    Steve Kerr, Chicago1998    Jeff Hornacek, Utah2000    Jeff Hornacek, Utah2001    Ray Allen, Milwaukee2002    Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento2003    Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento2004    Voshon Lenard, Denver2005    Quentin Richardson, Phoenix2006    Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas2007    Jason Kapono, Miami2008    Jason Kapono, Toronto2009    Daequan Cook, Miami2010    Paul Pierce, Boston2011    James Jones, Miami


August 7, 2020 VIDEO: Coach Pastner on Tech's Incoming Transfers

Tech's basketball coach offers thoughts on transfers Rodney Howard and Kyle Sturdivant

VIDEO: Coach Pastner on Tech's Incoming Transfers
August 6, 2020 Georgia Tech #ProJackets Basketball Report

Derrick Favors and the Pelicans 1-2 in NBA restart

Georgia Tech #ProJackets Basketball Report
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets