Open mobile menu

Lamprecht Named to Final Haskins Award Watch List

Columbus, Ga. – Georgia Tech’s Christo Lamprecht, recently named the Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year and the winner of the Byron Nelson Award, is among 10 golfers named Friday to the final watch list for the 2024 Fred Haskins Award, given annually to the nation’s top male United States collegiate golfer.

Collegiately, Lamprecht has won the OFCC/Fighting Illini Invitational and was co-medalist at the 2023 Ben Hogan Collegiate Invitational this year, and has six top-10 finishes overall. Additionally, Lamprecht shared second place at the Watersound Invitational and tied for third at this spring’s ACC Championship. Overall, he owns a 69.13 stroke average, which is challenging the all-time Tech record for a single year.

The senior from George, South Africa already has been named the winner of the 2024 Byron Nelson Award, which is awarded to the nation’s top senior golfer based on four years of accomplishment on the golf course, academic performance and service to the community. He also is a finalist for the Ben Hogan Award.

Lamprecht sits atop the World Amateur Golf Ranking, is second in the PGA TOUR University rankings and sixth in the National Collegiate Golf Ranking System. He won the 2023 Amateur Championship and claimed the Silver Medal as the low amateur at the 151st Open Championship (T-74). The South African competed in 2024 Masters Tournament, was a member of the International Team at the 2023 Arnold Palmer Cup, and also competed at the 2023 World Amateur Team Championship, placing eighth.

Lamprecht aims to join four Georgia Tech golfers who have previously won the Fred Haskins Award: David Duval (1993), Stewart Cink (1995), Matt Kuchar (1998) and Bryce Molder (2001).

Voting for the Haskins Award opens Friday. All active Division 1 players, coaches, golf SID’s, past Haskins winners, and college golf media are eligible to vote. Voting will end on Monday, May 27 at the conclusion of the stroke play portion of the NCAA Championship.

Tech returns to action next week at the NCAA Men’s Division I Golf Championship at the Omni LaCosta Resort and Spa in Carlsbad, Calif.


  • Luke Clanton, Florida State
  • Mats Ege, East Tennessee State
  • Nick Gabrelcik, North Florida
  • Austin Greaser, North Carolina
  • Jackson Koivun, Auburn
  • Christo Lamprecht, Georgia Tech
  • Matthew Riedel, Vanderbilt
  • Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt
  • Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford
  • Brendan Valdes, Auburn

Celebrating its 54th year, the Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel is annually given to the top male U.S. collegiate golfer as voted on by only college golfers, coaches and members of the golf media. Past winners of the Haskins Award presented by Stifel have captured 33 major championships and more than 400 professional tournaments around the world. Named in honor of Fred Haskins, the award is managed by the Haskins Foundation to acknowledge the top male golfer at the end of the season and to match the ANNIKA Award presented by Stifel, which acknowledges the top female Division I collegiate golfer.

Christo Lamprecht (left) has won two collegiate events this year and was named the ACC Player of the Year. (photo by Andy Mead)


Alexander-Tharpe Fund

The Alexander-Tharpe Fund is the fundraising arm of Georgia Tech athletics, providing scholarship, operations and facilities support for Tech’s 400-plus student-athletes. Be a part of the development of Yellow Jackets that thrive academically at the Institute and compete for championships at the highest levels of college athletics by supporting the Annual Athletic Scholarship Fund, which directly provides scholarships for Georgia Tech student-athletes. To learn more about supporting the Yellow Jackets, visit


Georgia Tech’s golf team is in its 29th year under head coach Bruce Heppler, winning 72 tournaments in his tenure. The Yellow Jackets have won 19 Atlantic Coast Conference Championships, made 33 appearances in the NCAA Championship and been the national runner-up four times. Connect with Georgia Tech Golf on social media by liking their Facebook page, or following on Twitter (@GTGolf) and Instagram. For more information on Tech golf, visit


Men's Golf Georgia Tech #ProJackets Golf Report

News and notes from the Yellow Jackets in professional golf

Georgia Tech #ProJackets Golf Report
Men's Golf Lamprecht Named ACC Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Six Yellow Jackets make All-ACC Academic Golf Team, a program record

Lamprecht Named ACC Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Men's Golf GALLERY: Georgia Tech Golfers at the 2024 U.S. Open

Chesson Hadley, Matt Kuchar, Chris Petefish and Hiroshi Tai at Pinehurst (photos courtesy of USGA)

GALLERY: Georgia Tech Golfers at the 2024 U.S. Open
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Legends Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets