Open mobile menu

Georgia Tech's Wenzel Named WBCA Administrator Of The Year

March 10, 2011

ATLANTA – Georgia Tech Associate Director of Athletics and Senior Woman Administrator (SWA) Theresa Wenzel was named the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) 2011 Administrator of the Year for her excellence in athletic administration announced Thursday.

The WBCA Administrator of the Year Award is awarded annually to an administrator, athletic director, associate or assistant athletic director, or senior woman administrator who has promoted women’s basketball in a positive manner through clinics, speaking engagements, books, articles, research and/or special promotions at the local, regional and/or national levels, and who has served as a professional role-model for student athletes.

“Theresa has been a great mentor for my staff and me,” head coach MaChelle Joseph said. “She is a great advocate for women’s basketball overall and our program at Georgia Tech, as well as all Yellow Jacket sports. She is a tireless worker that has impacted many student-athletes and coaches in a short period of time. Theresa is very deserving of being named Administrator of the Year, and I am happy the WBCA has recognized her efforts.”

Wenzel is in her fifth year as SWA at Georgia Tech and oversees the women’s basketball, volleyball, softball, golf, men’s and women’s tennis, men’s and women’s track & field, men’s and women’s cross country and the men’s and women’s swimming & diving teams

“On behalf of everyone at the Georgia Tech Athletics Association, we congratulate Theresa on receiving this prestigious honor,” Georgia Tech Director of Athletics Dan Radakovich said. “This is truly an outstanding and well deserved recognition for the fantastic work she has done for Georgia Tech and the ACC. We are very fortunate to have her as a member of our staff and a part of the Georgia Tech community. Thank you to the WBCA for recognizing Theresa and her great work as an administrator.”

Wenzel is the athletic department non-academic liaison to the Office of Student Affairs. She is also a member of various committees including the Georgia Tech Women’s Resource Center Advisory Board, the Title IX Compliance Committee, the GTAA Compliance and Equity Committee, the NCAA Athletic Certification Steering Committee. Wenzel also serves on the ACC Equity Committee, the ACC Women’s Basketball Committee, ACC Softball Committee and the ACC Women’s Tennis Committee.

Wenzel possesses a wide range of experience in athletic administration and coaching. She joined the Georgia Tech Athletic Association staff in October of 2005 after an eight-year stint at Siena College (N.Y.), where she served as Assistant and then Associate Athletics Director of business operations while also coaching the women’s golf team.

Wenzel will be formally recognized during the WBCA Awards Show, which will be held at 6 pm EDT, Monday, April 4, in the Indiana Convention Center’s Sagamore Ballroom. This event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women’s Final Four®.

Past recipients of the WBCA Administrator of the Year Award include: Janna Blais, Northwestern University (2010), Carolyn Campbell-McGovern, Ivy League (2009); Marianne Vydra, Oregon State University (2008), Carol Sprague, University of Pittsburgh (2007); Jane Meyer, University of Iowa (2006), Debbie Richardson, Campbell University (2005); Dr. M. Dianne Murphy, University of Denver (2004); Cary Groth, Northern Illinois University (2003); Marita Hynes, University of Oklahoma (2002); Jane Meier, Northern Kentucky (2001); Bernadette McGlade, ACC (2000); Don DiJulia, St. Joseph’s (Pa.) University (1999); Jeanne Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul University (1998); Lynn Dorn, North Dakota State University (1997); Dr. Mary Jo Wynn, Southwest Missouri State University (1996); Ellen Perry, Pennsylvania State University (1995); Lynn Barry, USA Basketball (1994); the late Jeannine McHaney, Texas Tech University (1993);Dr. Christine Grant, University of Iowa (1992); Dr. James Jarrett, Old Dominion University (1991); Dr. Judith Holland, UCLA (1990); Dr. Donna Lopiano, University of Texas (1989); Dr. Joyce Wong, University of Rochester (1988); Joan Cronan, University of Tennessee (1987); Nora Lynn Finch, North Carolina State University (1987);Dr. Charlotte West, Southern Illinois University (1987).

— —


Women's Basketball GALLERY: Georgia Tech Basketball Player Tyaunna Marshall

Georgia Tech basketball player from 2011-14, Tech's all-time leading scorer

GALLERY: Georgia Tech Basketball Player Tyaunna Marshall
Women's Basketball Georgia Tech Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2024 Announced

Eight-member group to be officially inducted in the fall of 2025 along with Class of 2025

Georgia Tech Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2024 Announced
Women's Basketball PHOTO GALLERY: Spring Commencement

Student-athletes walk across the stage during Tech's graduation ceremonies at McCamish Pavilion

PHOTO GALLERY: Spring Commencement
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Legends Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets