Tech's Becky Megesi Sets School Record in 1,500 Meters During First Day of Reebok Invitational

ATLANTA (May 21) — Georgia Tech junior Becky Megesi (Jonesboro, Ga.) set a new school record in the Outdoor 1,500 meters Friday as she ran 4:20.17 at George C. Griffin Track on the Institute’s campus. Tech’s Reebok Invitational, which is in its sixth year, is hosting over 84 teams and 680 athletes during the two-day event.

Jones, the two-time ACC 1,500 champion, finished second to Jill Snyder of Wake Forest, who ran a 4:19.40 to take the event. Both runners posted NCAA provisional qualifying marks and moved into the top 20 nationally in top times posted this year. Brendan Rodgers of N.C. State won the men’s 1,500 meters in 3;42.76 and led a field that had five runners provisionally qualify for the NCAA Championship.

Former Tech all-America Eric Bowers won the long jump in 26-01, while sophomore Clayton Porter (Chesapeake, Va.) was third with a jump of 25-0. LaShonda Christopher of North Carolina edged Tasha Mahone of Georgia in the long jump, by a winning margin of 20-4 to 20-3. Tennessee’s Toby Colyer won the men’s javelin with an NCAA provisional throw of 224-5, and Laverne Eve (Unattached) won the women’s javelin with a mark of 206-6. Tech’s Chris Sinotte (Warwick, R.I.) finished third in the men’s javelin with a throw of 201-3.

MaryJane Harrelson of Appalachian State won the 3,000 meters in a time of 9:04.07, while Joseph Parks of Southern Illinios won the men’s 3,000 meter Steeplechase in an NCAA provisional time of 8:48.65. Michael Green of Troy State captured the men’s 5,000 meters in a time of 14:12.56.

Action continues Saturday with 28 events. Field events start at 9 a.m., while the running events get underway at 1 p.m.


Maurice Simpson
January 20, 2019 More Personal Records on Day 2 of Vanderbilt Invitational

Maurice Simpson's PR just one of many

Tech’s Becky Megesi Sets School Record in 1,500 Meters During First Day of Reebok Invitational
January 18, 2019 Day 1 of Vanderbilt Invitational is in the Books

Denise Issah and Taylor Grimes lead the way