Open mobile menu

Tech Trio Earns Preseason Recognition

June 22, 2005

ATLANTA–Georgia Tech running back P.J. Daniels has been named to the 2005 Watch List for the Maxwell Award, while defensive end Eric Henderson and linebacker Gerris Wilkinson have been tabbed to the Watch List for the Chuck Bednarik Award.

Both awards are presented by the Maxwell Football Club, which will award the 69th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year and the 11th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. The respective watch lists, announced by Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski, include a field of fifty candidates for each of these awards as selected by the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee. Additions and subtractions to the lists, based on player performance, will be made through out the 2005 football season.

Daniels, a senior from Houston, Texas, ranks eighth in the nation among returning players in career rushing yards with 2,416, good for fifth place in Georgia Tech history. He has averaged 102.9 yards rushing per game over the last two season, including an ACC-leading 1,447 yards in 2003.

Henderson, a senior from New Orleans, La., is a two-time all-ACC selection at defensive end. He led the ACC in sacks with 11 in 2003 and has 19 career sacks and 51 career tackles for loss.

Wilkinson, a senior middle linebacker from Oakland, Calif., was the second-leading tackler in the ACC last fall with 119, earning second-team all-conference honors.

Players selected to these initial watch lists have distinguished themselves as All Conference or All American selections from their respective universities in past years. Underclassmen are selected based on recommendations from the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee.

Ten semi-finalists for each award will be announced in October 2005 and the field will be trimmed to three finalists in November 2005. The winners of the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show that will be broadcast on ESPN in December 2005. The formal presentation of the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will take place at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Banquet in February 2006.

Maxwell Award Watch List PLAYER SCHOOL POSITION Breaston, Steve Michigan WR Brohm, Brian Louisville QB Broussard, Alley LSU RB Brown, Thomas Georgia RB Bush, Michael Louisville RB Bush, Reggie USC RB Clemens, Kellen Oregon QB Cobbs, Patrick North Texas RB Croyle, Brodie Alabama QB Daniels, P. J. Georgia Tech RB Drew, Maurice UCLA RB Ginn, Ted Ohio State WR/ATH Gradkowski, Bruce Toledo QB Hackney, Darryl UAB QB Hart, Michael Michigan RB Henne, Chad Michigan QB Hodges, Cody Texas Tech QB Holmes, Santonio Ohio State WR Hunt, Tony Penn State RB Imoh, Mike Virginia Tech RB Jackson, Chad Florida WR Jacobs, Omar Bowling Green QB Jarrett, Dwayne USC WR Keller, Sam Arizona State QB Kolb, Kevin Houston QB Leak, Chris Florida QB Leinart, Matt USC QB Lundi, Wali Virginia RB Moss, Tyrone Miami WR Palko, Tyler Pitt QB Peterson, Adrian Oklahoma RB Pope, Leonard Georgia TE Quinn, Brady Notre Dame QB Rhodes, Damien Syracuse RB Riggs, Gerald Jr. Tennessee RB Robinson, Michael Penn State QB Russell, JaMarcus LSU QB Shockley, D.J. Georgia QB Smith, Steve USC WR Stanton, Drew Michigan State QB Tate, Drew Iowa QB Thomas, Jamario North Texas RB White, LenDale USC RB Whitehurst, Charlie Clemson QB Williams, DeAngelo Memphis RB Wolfe, Garrett Northern Illinois RB Wright, Kyle Miami QB Young, Vince Texas QB Zabransky, Jared Boise State QB

Bednarik Award Watch List PLAYER SCHOOL POSITION Allen, Jason Tennessee DB Archer, Brandon Kansas State LB Bing, Darnell USC DB Blades, H.B. Pitt LB Blue, Greg Georgia DB Brooks, Ahmad Virginia LB Bunting, Nick Tulsa LB Carpenter, Bobby Ohio State LB Carroll, Thomas Miami DE Connor, Dan Penn State LB Cromartie, Antonio Florida State DB Derting, Will Washington State LB Everett, Earl Florida LB Gaither, Omar Tennessee LB Greenway, Chad Iowa LB Hall, Korey Boise State LB Hargrave, James UCONN LB Harper, Roman Alabama DB Harris, Aaron Texas LB Havner, Spencer UCLA LB Hawk, A.J. Ohio State LB Henderson, Eric Georgia Tech DE Herring, Jarvis Florida DB Hester, Devin Miami DB/ATH Hodge, Abdul Iowa LB Jackson, D’Qwell Maryland LB Jackson, Tommy Auburn DL Kiwanuke, Mathias Boston College DE Lawson, Manny North Carolina State DE Mahelona, Jessee Tennessee DT McClover, Stanley Auburn DE McGarigle, Tim Northwestern LB McIntosh, Rocky Miami LB Moses, Quentin Georgia DE Nicholson, A.J. Florida State LB Posluszny, Paul Penn State LB Reid, Nick Kansas LB Ryans, DeMeco Alabama LB Sanders, Dontez Wisconsin LB Sims, Ernie Florida State LB Tapp, Darryl Virginia Tech DE Watson, Gabe Michigan DL Wilkinson, Gerris Georgia Tech LB Williams, Mario North Carolina State DE Williams, Travis Auburn LB Wright, Rodrique Texas DT Wroten, Claude LSU DL Wyche, James Syracuse DE Zemaitis, Alan Penn State DB


Football VIDEO/PHOTOS: Tech at ACC Kickoff

Head coach Brent Key, DL Zeek Biggers, RB Jamal Haynes and QB Haynes King preview 2024 in Charlotte

VIDEO/PHOTOS: Tech at ACC Kickoff
Football Seven Yellow Jackets on Shrine Bowl Watch List

Tech student-athletes among names to watch for prestigious all-star game

Seven Yellow Jackets on Shrine Bowl Watch List
Football Georgia Tech-Notre Dame Single-Game Tickets On Sale

A limited number of seats are available to general public

Georgia Tech-Notre Dame Single-Game Tickets On Sale
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Legends Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets