Open mobile menu

Monique Mead Named to 2010 U.S. National A2 Roster

March 18, 2010

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — Georgia Tech freshman right-side hitter Monique Mead is one of 24 players selected by USA Volleyball to lead its U.S. Women’s National A2 Program for 2010.

The 2010 U.S. Women’s National A2 program is scheduled to train May 24-28 in Tempe, Ariz., before being split into two 12-player rosters to compete in the Open Division of the 2010 USA Open National Championships held in nearby Phoenix. The Open Division flight takes place May 29-June 1 at the Phoenix Convention Center.

“We are very excited about Monique being named to the USA A2 team this summer,” said Georgia Tech head coach Tonya Johnson. “What a great opportunity for her to train and play with some of the best players in the country.”

Mead was Tech’s first ACC Freshman of the Year since Lauren Sauer won the award in 2000. Mead was second on the team and seventh in the ACC averaging 3.07 kills per set this year. She reached double-figures in 22 of Tech’s 30 matches and tallied at least 15 kills in five matches. That included a career-high 21 against Miami on Nov. 13. Mead also averaged 1.94 digs per set and 0.77 blocks. In the Jackets’ NCAA Tournament loss to Baylor, Mead just missed a double-double as she had 12 kills and nine digs.

The 2010 U.S. Women’s National A2 Team includes four setters, 10 outside/opposite hitters, six middles and four liberos. The 24 players come from 18 different collegiate programs.

Middle blockers selected for the A2 National program are Rachael Adams (University of Texas, Cincinnati, Ohio), Alyssa Davis (University of Auburn, Oakland Park, Fla.), Jen Doris (University of Texas, Houston), Lindsay Fletemier (University of Dayton, Garden City, Mich.), Lauren Gibbemeyer (University of Minnesota, St. Paul, Minn.) and Dominique Olowolafe (Cal Poly, Lansing, Mich.).

Setters selected for the A2 squad are Carli Lloyd (University of California-Berkeley, Bonsall, Calif.), Kelly Murphy (University of Florida, Wilmington, Ill.), Evan Sanders (Colorado State University, Lafayette, Colo.) and Paige Weber (University of Arizona, Indianapolis, Ind.).

Liberos/Defensive specialists chosen for the A2 program are Ellie Blankenship (University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Rapids, Iowa), Laura Gonzalez (University of Albany, Carolina, Puerto Rico), Ashley Mass (Iowa State University, Muskego, Wis.) and Sydney Yogi (University of Texas, Honolulu).

Outside hitters and opposites named to the A2 team are Michelle Bartsch (University of Illinois, Maryville, Ill.), Kelsey Black (Texas A&M, Amarillo, Texas), Kanani Danielson (University of Hawaii, Ewa Beach, Hawaii), Laura DeBruler (University of Illinois, Downers Grove, Ill.), Whitney Dosty (University of Arizona, Tucson, Ariz.), Juliann Faucette (University of Texas, San Diego, Calif.), Monique Mead (Georgia Tech, Newnan, Ga.), Tarah Murrey (University of California-Berkeley, El Cerrito, Calif.), Juliane Piggot (UC Irvine, Newport Beach, Calif.) and Ali Troost (University of San Diego, Hemet, Calif.).

Bartsch, DeBruler, Fletemier, Lloyd, Murrey and Weber all were part of the 2009 U.S. Women’s National A2 Program.

The players, all of whom have remaining collegiate eligibility for 2010, were selected as part of the U.S. Women’s National Team Open Tryouts held Feb. 19-21 at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs. A record total of 175 athletes competed in the Open Tryout.


September 17, 2019 #TBTuesday: Tech Topples Georgia, 3-2

Highlights from Tech volleyball's 2018 victory over UGA

#TBTuesday: Tech Topples Georgia, 3-2
September 14, 2019 Jackets Face Setbacks in Norman

Volleyball falls 3-1 to Arizona State and Oklahoma

Jackets Face Setbacks in Norman
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets