Open mobile menu

Johnson Wins Biletnikoff Award

Dec. 8, 2006

Georgia Tech’s Calvin Johnson won the Biletnikoff Award as the nation’s top receiver, announced Thursday during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show in Orlando, Fla.

Johnson is just the second Georgia Tech player ever to win a national award, joining Joe Hamilton, the 1999 Heisman Trophy runnerup who won the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

Tech punter Durant Brooks was also at the Awards Show as a finalist for the Ray Guy Award, which went to Baylor’s Daniel Sepulveda.

Johnson and Brooks were also named to the Walter Camp All-America team, with Johnson on the first team and Brooks on the second team. That marks the first time that Tech has had more than one player earn all-America recognition in a season since 1999, when Hamilton was a consensus first-team selection and tackle Jon Carman added second-team honors.

A junior from Tyrone, Ga., Johnson has 67 catches for 1,016 yards and 13 touchdowns, which ranks fourth in the nation.

Brooks, a junior from Macon, Ga., ranks fourth in the nation in punting average (45.49) and second in net (40.96).

THE HOME DEPOT COLLEGE FOOTBALL AWARDS FINALISTS (Players Listed Alphabetically, Winners are marked)

Maxwell Award (best all-around player)

Brady Quinn, Notre Dame- AWARD RECIPIENT

Ray Rice, Rutgers

Troy Smith, Ohio State

Biletnikoff Award (best wide receiver)

Jarett Dillard, Rice

Calvin Johnson, Georgia Tech- AWARD RECIPIENT

Jeff Samardzija, Notre Dame

Chuck Bednarik Trophy (best defensive player)

Dan Connor, Penn State

*Paul Posluszny, Penn State- AWARD RECIPIENT

Lamarr Woodley, Michigan

Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back)

Leon Hall, Michigan

Reggie Nelson, Florida

Aaron Ross, Texas- AWARD RECIPIENT

Outland Trophy (best interior lineman)

Justin Blalock, Texas

Dan Mozes, West Virginia

Joe Thomas, Wisconsin- AWARD RECIPIENT

Butkus Award (best linebacker)

James Laurinaitis, Ohio State

Paul Posluszny, Penn State

Patrick Willis, Mississippi- AWARD RECIPIENT

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Colt Brennan, Hawaii

Brady Quinn, Notre Dame

Troy Smith, Ohio State- AWARD RECIPIENT

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award

Arthur Carmody, Louisville- AWARD RECIPIENT

Garrett Hartley, Oklahoma

John Vaughn, Auburn

Doak Walker Award (best running back)

Mike Hart, Michigan

Darren McFadden, Arkansas- AWARD RECIPIENT

Steve Slaton, West Virginia

Ray Guy Award (best punter)

Durant Brooks, Georgia Tech

Jeremy Kapinos, Penn State

Daniel Sepulveda, Baylor- AWARD RECIPIENT

The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award

Greg Schiano, Rutgers- AWARD RECIPIENT

Disney’s Wide World of Sports Spirit Award

Patrick Henry Hughes,Louisville – AWARD RECIPIENT

NCFAA Contribution to College Football Award

Chuck Neinas, CFA (Executive Director 1980-97)- AWARD RECIPIENT

*Award Winner in 2005

The Walter Camp All-America Team

Walter Camp Player of the Year: Troy Smith

(Offensive Team)


Troy Smith, Ohio State

Wide Receiver:

Dwayne Jarrett, USC

Wide Receiver:

Calvin Johnson, Georgia Tech

Tight End:

Zach Miller, Arizona State

Offensive Linemen:

Justin Blalock, Texas

Jake Long, Michigan

Aaron Sears, Tennessee

Joe Thomas, Wisconsin

Dan Mozes, West Virginia

Running Backs

Darren McFadden, Arkansas

Steve Slaton, West Virginia

Place Kicker

Mason Crosby, Colorado

(Defensive Team)

Defensive Linemen:

Gaines Adams, Clemson

Justin Hickman, UCLA

Quinn Pitcock, Ohio State

LaMarr Woodley, Michigan


James Laurinaitis, Ohio State

Paul Posluszny, Penn State

Patrick Willis, Ole Miss

Defensive Backs:

Leon Hall, Michigan

Daymeion Hughes, Cal

Reggie Nelson, Florida

Aaron Ross, Texas


Daniel Sepulveda, Baylor

Kick Return:

DeSean Jackson, Cal

The winners from the following list of award finalists also received recognition during the program:

Rotary Lombardi AwardSM (outstanding lineman)

Justin Blalock, Texas

Quinn Pitcock, Ohio State

Paul Posluszny, Penn State

LaMarr Woodley, Michigan- AWARD RECIPIENT

John Mackey Award (best tight end)

John Carlson, Notre Dame

Zach Miller, Arizona State

Matt Spaeth, Minnesota- AWARD RECIPIENT

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (outstanding defensive player)

Gaines Adams, Clemson

Leon Hall, Michigan

James Laurinaitis, Ohio State- AWARD RECIPIENT

Reggie Nelson, Florida

Patrick Willis, Mississippi

Rimington Trophy (outstanding center)

Mark Bihl, Michigan

Doug Datish, Ohio State

Ryan Kalil, Southern California

Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas

Dan Mozes, West Virginia- AWARD RECIPIENT

Darnell Stapleton, Rutgers


June 14, 2019 Golden Ticket Sweepstakes

Six-year season-ticket holder Chelsea O. is the first of five Golden Ticket Sweepstakes winners

Golden Ticket Sweepstakes
June 13, 2019 Seger, Thompson Join Football Strength & Conditioning Staff

New staffers arrive on The Flats from Temple, New York Giants

Seger, Thompson Join Football Strength & Conditioning Staff
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets