Open mobile menu

Johnson, Barry Eye Third Straight Chick-fil-A Challenge Title

April 17, 2013

GREENSBORO, Ga. – Georgia Tech head coach Paul Johnson and former Yellow Jacket basketball standout Jon Barry will attempt to win a third straight Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament here April 28-30 at the Reynolds Plantation resort on Lake Oconee.

The Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge, entering its seventh year, features a coach and a celebrity from 15 different schools representing the Atlantic Coast Conference, Southeastern Conference and Big Ten Conference. Over the past six years combined, the Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge has provided $3.3 million in scholarship and charitable contributions.

Johnson and Barry would like to see the bulk of this year’s $520,000 scholarship purse make its way to the Flats.

Over the three-day event, several tournament rounds will be played in addition to the featured, televised round of coaches and celebrities. The complete field of head coaches, professional golfers, former athletes and celebrities includes three NFL Hall of Famers, six Heisman Trophy winners, 10 national Coaches of the Year and 16 Pro Bowlers.

The field of competitors for the featured round is scheduled to include four former winning teams including Johnson and Barry, the back-to-back defending champions (2011, 2012), Jimbo Fisher and Terrell Buckley of Florida State (2010), two-time winners Steve Spurrier and Sterling Sharpe from South Carolina (2008, 2009), and Frank Beamer and Dell Curry from Virginia Tech (2007).

New additions to this year’s tournament include Heisman Trophy winner Mark Ingram (Alabama), Bo Jackson (Auburn) and new ACC member Syracuse. Reigning national champion Alabama and Virginia Tech, who will square off in this year’s Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game, are also set to participate.

The 15 university teams will be vying for the $125,000 first-place prize with all teams receiving a portion of the $520,000 scholarship purse.

The field of competitors for the featured event is scheduled to include:

Alabama– Nick Saban–Mark Ingram
Auburn–Gus Malzahn–Bo Jackson
Clemson–Dabo Swinney–Steve Fuller
Florida State–Jimbo Fisher–Terrell Buckley–2010 Winners
Georgia Tech–Paul Johnson–Jon Barry-2011, 2012 Winners
Miami–Al Golden–Gino Torretta
Mississippi–Hugh Freeze–Sean Tuohy
Mississippi State–Dan Mullen–Fred McCrary
North Carolina–Larry Fedora–Roy Williams
NC State–Dave Doeren–Tom Gugliotta
Ohio State–Urban Meyer–Jeff Logan
South Carolina–Steve Spurrier–Sterling Sharpe–2008, 2009 Winners
Syracuse–Scott Shafer–Jim Boeheim
Virginia Tech–Frank Beamer–Dell Curry–2007 Winners
Wake Forest–Jim Grobe–Riley Skinner

The Challenge, which employs a scramble format, will be broadcast by ESPN in the fall.

In addition to the $520,000 scholarship purse, an additional $135,000 charitable donation will be made to Chick-fil-A’s WinShape Homes. The Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge is a significant contributor to the Chick-fil-A Bowl’s overall charitable and scholarship donations. The Chick-fil-A Bowl leads all bowls in the country in charitable giving, including gifts of more than $15.7 million since 2002.


November 16, 2019 Virginia Tech Tops Jackets

Georgia Tech drops opener of season-ending homestand

Virginia Tech Tops Jackets
November 16, 2019 Photos: Georgia Tech vs Virginia Tech
Photos: Georgia Tech vs Virginia Tech
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets