Open mobile menu

Georgia Tech's Teixeira Among Five Finalists For Golden Spikes Award

TUCSON, AZ – Georgia Tech third baseman Mark Teixeira (Severna Park, Md.) is one of five finalists for the 2000 Golden Spikes Award, amateur baseball’s most prestigious award, annouced today by USA Baseball in coordination with the Major League Baseball Players Association. The 23rd annual presentation of the Award will serve as the featured event at the Major League Baseball Players Association sponsored Salute to Excellence Awards Luncheon to be held on November 3 at the Paris Hotel in Las Vegas.

Teixeira, the 2000 Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year and the winner of the 2000 Dick Howser Trophy as college baseball’s top player, is joined by pitcher Kip Bouknight (South Carolina), catcher Brad Cresse (LSU), pitcher Beau Hale (Texas), and pitcher Justin Wayne (Stanford), on the list of finalists.

“It is a great honor for Mark to be selected as a finalist for the Golden Spikes Award, and it’s certainly within his reach to win,” said Georgia Tech head coach Danny Hall. “He is the second Georgia Tech player in the last 10 years to win the Dick Howser Trophy, and I think he would be a very deserving winner of the Golden Spikes Award. What he accomplished this summer will certainly help his chances.”

Teixeira, who led the ACC in batting average (.427), home runs (18), runs scored (104), on base percentage (.547) and slugging percentage (.772) during the 2000 collegiate season, spent the summer months playing on USA Baseball’s national team. The rising junior helped lead the United States to its best record in history (27-3-1) while winning the Honkbal Championship in The Netherlands. Teixeira, who regularly hit third in the batting order, finished the season with a 23-game hitting streak while batting nearly .400 for the summer.

“Mark continues to meet every challenge that is thrown his way,” said Hall. “He always finds a way to be on top and be the creme of the crop. I’m very happy for him and I’m sure that it’s a great feeling for him personally. It’s yet another feather in his cap.”

For the past 20 years, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. The award is presented each year to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship. Past winners of this prestigious award include current Boston Red Sox catcher and former Georgia Tech star Jason Varitek, as well as other major League stars such as Robin Ventura, Darren Dreifort, Will Clark and current Philadelphia Phillies manager Terry Francona.

Previous Golden Spikes Award Winners

Year GSA Recipient School
1999 Jason Jennings Baylor
1998 Pat Burrell Miami
1997 J.D. Drew Florida State
1996 Travis Lee San Diego State
1995 Mark Kotsay Cal State Fullerton
1994 Jason Varitek Georgia Tech
1993 Darren Dreifort Wichita State
1992 Phil Nevin Cal State Fullerton
1991 Mike Kelly Arizona State
1990 Alex Fernandez Miami-Dade South
1989 Ben McDonald LSU
1988 Robin Ventura Oklahoma State
1987 Jim Abbott Michigan
1986 Mike Loynd Florida State
1985 Will Clark Mississippi State
1984 Oddibe McDowell Arizona State
1983 Dave Magadan Alabama
1982 Augie Schmidt New Orleans
1981 Mike Fuentes Florida State
1980 Terry Francona Arizona
1979 Tim Wallach Cal St. Fullerton
1978 Bob Horner Arizona State


Baseball Jones Named Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Finalist

Cam Jones lauded as one of nation’s top arms, bats in country

Jones Named Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Finalist
Baseball Four Jackets Named Academic All-District

Second-straight year with four or more honors for academic success

Four Jackets Named Academic All-District
Baseball Malloy Makes Major League Debut for Detroit

Former third-baseman becomes 76th Big Leaguer in program history

Malloy Makes Major League Debut for Detroit
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Legends Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets