Open mobile menu

Georgia Tech's Godhigh Named Winner Of Brian Piccolo Award

Dec. 5, 2013

From ACC Communications Office

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Georgia Tech fifth-year senior running back Robert Godhigh has been named the recipient of the Atlantic Coast Conference’s 2013. Brian Piccolo Award, ACC Commissioner John Swofford announced Thursday.

The Piccolo Award has been given annually since 1970 in memory of the late Brian Piccolo to the “most courageous” football player in the ACC. Piccolo was the ACC Athlete of the Year in 1965 and played for the Chicago Bears before his career was cut short when he was stricken with cancer. His courageous fight against that disease was an inspiration to the Bears and the entire football community.

The 2013 Piccolo Award will be presented at the ACC’s Night of Legends event which will be held Friday (6 p.m.) at the Charlotte Convention Center as part of the festivities held around the Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game.

Godhigh overcame three surgeries during the 2013 calendar year to become a major contributor to a Georgia Tech squad that posted a 7-5 overall record, finished second in the ACC Coastal Division and earn bowl game eligibility for the 17th straight year.

The 5-foot-7, 190-pound Godhigh underwent two shoulder surgeries and had an operation on his hand this year. Despite playing the first five games of the season in a cast, the Acworth, Ga., native ranks 10th among ACC rushers with 644 yards, his 420 receiving yards rank first on Georgia Tech’s team. Godhigh has averaged 10.1 yards per carry and 20 yards per reception, and his 9.1 yards per carry for his career is the second-best in ACC history.

No stranger to beating long odds, Godhigh began his career at Georgia Tech as a walk-on but earned a scholarship prior to his junior season and has started the past two years. He becomes the third winner of the Piccolo Award from Georgia Tech and the first since fullback Ed Wilder in 2000.

Robert Godhigh should always be a good example to any young football player who is told that he is too small or just not athletic enough to play college football at a high level,” said Yellow Jackets head coach Paul Johnson. “Since coming to Georgia Tech as a walk-on, he has paid his dues, remained patient and has steadily improved into one of the most productive and consistent performers in the ACC. His fighting spirit has been an inspiration to our entire team.”

ACC Brian Piccolo Award Winners
1970 Paul Miller, QB, North Carolina
1971…. Jim Webster, LB, North Carolina
1972…. Mark Johnson, QB, Duke
1973…. Al Neville, QB, Maryland
1974…. David Visaggio, DG, Maryland
1975…. Scott Gardner, QB, Virginia
1976…. Jeff Green, DE, Duke
1977…. Ralph Stringer, DB, NC State
1978…. Rex Varn, DB, Clemson
1979…. not available
1980…. Jack Cain, DB,Clemson
1981…. Aaron Stewart, DB, Duke
1982…. Kenny Duckett, WR, Wake Forest
1983…. John Piedmonte, OLB,Wake Forest
1984…. J.D. Maarleveld, T, Maryland
1985…. Danny Burmeister, DB, N. Carolina
1986…. Ray Williams, WR, Clemson
1987…. no recipient
1988…. Jerry Mays, TB, Georgia Tech
1989…. Michael Anderson, RB, Maryland
1990…. Marc Mays, WR, Duke
1991…. Scott Adell, T, NC State
1992…. Dan Footman, DE, Florida State
………………………. Randy Cuthbert, TB, Duke
1993…. Scott Youmans, DL, Duke
1994…. Chris Harrison, T, Virginia
1995…. Warren Forney, DT, Clemson
1996…. John Lewis, RB, Wake Forest
1997…. Sam Cowart, LB, Florida State
1998…. Anthony Poindexter, DB, Virginia
……………….. Corey Simon, DT, Florida State
1999…. Chris Weinke, QB, Florida State
2000…. Ed Wilder, FB, Georgia Tech
2001…. Matt Crawford, T, Maryland
2002…. Anquan Boldin, WR, Florida State
2003…. Kevin Bailey, OL, Virginia
2004…. Frank Gore, RB, Miami
2005…. Ryan Best, S, Virginia
2006…. Glenn Sharpe, Miami
2007…. Matt Robinson, DE, Wake Forest
2008…. Robert Quinn, DE, North Carolina
2009…. Toney Baker, RB, NC State
2010…. Mark Herzlich, LB, Boston College
…………………………… Nate Irving, LB, NC State
2011…. Giovani Bernard, RB, North Carolina
2012…. Shayon Green, DE, Miami
…………… Chris Thompson, RB, Florida State
2013…. Robert Godhigh, RB, Georgia Tech

ACC’s Most Courageous Player

2013 Robert Godhigh, RB
2000 Ed Wilder, FB
1989 Jerry Mays, RB


January 10, 2021 VIDEO/PHOTOS: Mid-Year Move-In Day

#Megatron21 arrives on The Flats

VIDEO/PHOTOS: Mid-Year Move-In Day
January 9, 2021 VIDEO: Behind The Scenes - Ray Guy Award

An exclusive look at Georgia Tech's Pressley Harvin III receiving the 2020 Ray Guy Award

VIDEO: Behind The Scenes - Ray Guy Award
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets