Open mobile menu

Georgia Tech To Face Top Competition At Mary Nutter Collegiate Classic

Feb. 21, 2013

Mary Nutter Collegiate Classic Central | Game Notes

THE FLATS –
The Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets (8-3) travel west to take on top competition at the Mary Nutter Classic Feb. 22-24 at Big League Dreams Sports Park in Cathedral City, Calif. The tournament field is studded with 13 teams that are ranked in the USA TODAY/NFCA Coaches Top 25, and Tech is scheduled to face two Top 10 teams in No. 5 Florida and No. 8 California.

The Jackets are set to compete in the tournament for the second time in the classic’s 10-year history. Tech traveled to the tournament in 2009 when it was called the Cathedral City Classic and posted a 2-3 record with wins over Loyola Marymount, 5-0, and Oregon State, 6-0.

Tech opens the tournament against Northwestern Friday at 10:30 a.m. PT (1:30 p.m. ET), followed by a 3:30 p.m. PT (6:30 p.m. ET) matchup against No. 8 California. On Saturday, the Jackets face No. 5 Florida at 9:30 a.m. PT (12:30 p.m. ET) and Oregon State at 12 p.m. PT (3 p.m. ET), before closing the classic on Sunday at 9 a.m. PT (12 p.m. ET) against Illinois.

The MNCC is the largest and most competitive Division I softball event outside of the NCAA postseason. The annual classic features a total of 35 top D1 programs all held at one complex, and includes PAC 12, Big 10, Big 12, SEC and ACC institutions, among others.

Tournament Schedule
Friday
1:30 p.m. ET vs. Northwestern – GameTracker | Audio
6:30 p.m. ET vs. No. 8 California – GameTracker | Audio

Saturday
12:30 p.m. ET vs. No. 5 Florida – GameTracker | Audio
3 p.m. ET vs. Oregon State – GameTracker | Audio

Sunday
12 p.m. ET vs. Illinois – GameTracker | Audio

Georgia Tech
After cruising to a 5-0 start in its season-opening tournament, Tech has hit a rough patch going 3-3 over its last six games. The Jackets suffered their first two losses of the season at the Georgia Tech Classic, both to Indiana, and recently dropped a one-run thriller to Mercer, 10-9.

Who’s Hot
Junior Ashley Thomas leads the offensive charge with a .457 batting average, 14 runs, 16 hits and two triples. Thomas has reached base safely in all 11 games this season and currently enjoys a 10-game hitting streak. Against Mercer, the McKinney, Texas native, was just a home run short of the cycle as she went 3-for-3 with two RBI, three runs and two walks to go along with a double and a triple.

In the Circle
The Jackets have four pitchers in their arsenal led by Hope Rush’s 3.09 ERA. She owns a 4-3 record and has pitched 43.0 innings with 28 runs -19 earned runs – on 41 hits and 25 strikeouts.  The pitching staff holds a 4.47 ERA and has limited opponents to a .288 hitting clip.

Against The Competition
Northwestern – The Jackets hold a 2-1 advantage against Northwestern in the all-time series. The teams last met on Feb. 19, 2010 at the Las Vegas Louisville Slugger Desert Classic. Tech won the contest, 9-6. The previous two meetings came in 2005, when Tech won 3-0, and 1999, a 5-2 Wildcat victory.

California – Tech is looking for its first win in the series against the Golden Bears, who lead the series 2-0. The Jackets dropped a 4-1 contest on Feb. 21, 2010 at the Las Vegas Louisville Slugger Desert Classic to California when they last met.

Florida – The Gators own the series, 5-1. UF won the last meeting, 3-0, at the USF DeMarini Tournament on Feb. 13, 2010.

Oregon State – Tech holds a slight edge over the Beavers in the series, 2-1. The Jackets outlasted Oregon State, 9-8, in the 2012 season opener at the Kajikawa Classic in Tempe, Ariz.

Illinois – The series against the Fighting Illini is knotted 2-2. On Feb. 18, 2011, Tech defeated Illinois 5-4 at the Felsberg Memorial Tournament in Miami, Fla. in the last meeting.

RELATED HEADLINES

July 19, 2019 Kauf Donates $10,000 Gatorade Spotlight Grant

Softball incoming freshman earns national grant for local family center

Kauf Donates $10,000 Gatorade Spotlight Grant
July 9, 2019 Softball Adds Four to 2019-20 Roster

Three transfers and one freshman signee join Georgia Tech softball

Softball Adds Four to 2019-20 Roster
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets