Open mobile menu

Four Jackets Are 2011 ACC Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients

Feb. 18, 2011

Complete press release from the ACC office.

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Commissioner John Swofford announced today a list of 41 student-athletes, including four from Georgia Tech, who are recipients of 2011 Atlantic Coast Conference Postgraduate Scholarships.

Georgia Tech’s Zach Brewster (baseball), Hannah Krimm (diving), Travis Wagner (swimming) and Jennifer Yee (softball) will be honored April 13, 2011 at the Koury Convention Center in Greensboro, N.C., at a luncheon hosted by the Nat Greene Kiwanis Club.

Krimm, Wagner and Yee will receive the Weaver-James-Corrigan Award, which goes to student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate degree. Brewster is one of five honorary recipients, recognized for outstanding academic and athletic performance, and intend to compete at the professional level.

Brewster, a management major, is a senior pitcher for the Yellow Jacket baseball team. Krimm, a psychology major, is currently finishing up her undergraduate degree. Wagner, a biology and Spanish major, is a senior for the Yellow Jacket swim team. Yee, a materials science engineer major, is currently studying mechanical engineering at the University of Massachusetts.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan Award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James, as well as Gene Corrigan, all of whom are former ACC commissioners. The league’s first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954-70 after a stint as the Director of Athletics at Wake Forest University. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.

Robert C. James, a former University of Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served in that capacity for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletics and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.

Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner of September 1, 1987, and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan’s tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles.

Prior to 1994, the Weaver-James postgraduate scholarships were given as separate honors. The Jim Weaver Award, which originated in 1970, recognized exceptional achievement on the playing field and in the classroom, while the Bob James Award, established in 1987, also honored outstanding student-athletes.

The Thacker Award, which originated in 2005, is awarded in honor of the late Jim and Pat Thacker of Charlotte, N.C. Jim Thacker was the primary play-by-play announcer for the ACC’s first television network. Recipients of the award must demonstrate outstanding performance both in athletic competition and in the classroom and intend to further their education through postgraduate studies at an ACC institution.


December 15, 2020 Huckabay Earns ACC Go Teach Tuition Award

Georgia Tech outfielder earns $2,500 scholarship to pursue a career in education

Huckabay Earns ACC Go Teach Tuition Award
December 15, 2020 PHOTOS: 2020 Winter Commencement


PHOTOS: 2020 Winter Commencement
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets