Open mobile menu

157 Georgia Tech Student-Athletes Earn ACC Academic Honor Roll

Aug. 6, 2013

2012-13 ACC Honor Roll List

THE FLATS – The 57th annual Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Honor Roll, recognizing academic excellence by student-athletes during the 2012-13 academic year, was announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

Georgia Tech had 157 student-athletes selected to the honor roll, including five-time honorees Elizabeth Lacksen (women’s track) and Minghao Wang (golf).

In addition, 14 Yellow Jackets earned a place on the honor roll for the fourth time, including Bo Andrews (golf), Shayla Bivins and Danielle Hamilton-Carter (women’s basketball), Susan Carlson and Nicki Meyer (volleyball), Kelly Delashmit (softball), Eric Powers, Perron Jones and Aaron Unterberger (men’s track and field), Brandon Mackinson, Kate Riley and Zach Tillman (swimming), Elizabeth Kilborn (women’s tennis) and Brandon Thomas (baseball).

The Honor Roll is comprised of student-athletes who participated in a varsity-level sport and registered a grade point average of 3.00 or better for the full academic year. The conference acknowledged a record 2,909 student-athletes for their hard work in the classroom during the 2012-13 academic year.

Duke led all schools with an ACC-record 474 student-athletes recognized, eclipsing its own mark of 452 set last year. Boston College saw 391 student-athletes honored, followed by North Carolina with 329, Virginia (286), Florida State (222), Virginia Tech (216), Maryland (192), NC State (181), Clemson (175), Georgia Tech (157), Miami (156) and Wake Forest (130). 

The 2012-13 Academic Honor Roll features 23 ACC Players of the Year. Those student-athletes include Clemson’s Brittney Waller (women’s indoor field);  Duke’s Henrique Cunha (men’s tennis), Brendan Fowler (men’s lacrosse defensive), Chelsea Gray (women’s basketball coaches’), Kara McCormack (women’s diving), Nick McCrory (men’s diving), Ali McCurdy (volleyball defensive) and Elizabeth Williams (women’s basketball defensive); Florida State’s Ashley Neff (volleyball); Maryland’s Patrick Mullins (men’s soccer), Iliana Sanza (women’s lacrosse defensive) and Katie Schwarzmann (women’s lacrosse offensive); North Carolina’s Kent Emanuel (baseball pitcher) and Tom Luchsinger (men’s swimming); NC State’s Emily Weiman (softball pitcher) Virginia’s Brittany Altomare (women’s golf), Sarah Cowburn (rowing), Contanze Duell  (rowing),  Susanne Grainger (rowing), Chandler Lally (rowing) and Kristine O’Brien (rowing), and Virginia Tech’s  Pete Yates (wrestling) and Alexander Ziegler (men’s indoor field).


Swimming & Diving GALLERY: Georgia Tech Diver Hannah Krimm

Georgia Tech diver from 2007-10, first diving all-American in Tech history

GALLERY: Georgia Tech Diver Hannah Krimm
Swimming & Diving Georgia Tech Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2024 Announced

Eight-member group to be officially inducted in the fall of 2025 along with Class of 2025

Georgia Tech Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2024 Announced
Swimming & Diving PHOTO GALLERY: Spring Commencement

Student-athletes walk across the stage during Tech's graduation ceremonies at McCamish Pavilion

PHOTO GALLERY: Spring Commencement
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Legends Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets