Open mobile menu

Yellow Jackets Awarded No. 14 National Seed for 2010 NCAA Women's Tennis Atlanta Regional

May 4, 2010

2010 Women’s Bracket

ATLANTA – The 13th-ranked Georgia Tech Women’s Tennis team will serve as a host team for the first- and second-round of the 2010 NCAA Women’s Tennis Championships after receiving a No. 14 national seed, the NCAA announced Tuesday afternoon.

The Yellow Jackets (18-9), who earned a spot in the field by winning the 2010 Atlantic Coast Championship last weekend, will host Austin Peay (18-3) Friday, May 14 at 1 p.m., while Mississippi (15-5) will meet UC-Irvine (13-10) at 10 a.m., in the other first round match at the Bill Moore Tennis Center.

“It is always nice to accomplish a goal and one ours was to host a regional here at Georgia Tech,” head coach Bryan Shelton said. “We certainly accomplished that today. Our team has had to work hard all season so we are definitely battle tested and ready for a strong regional tournament.

“We are not familiar with Austin Peay yet but we will focus on getting ourselves prepared once we get done with exams week. Our team is just really excited for the opportunity in front of them. We just want to continue to build on our ACC Tournament.”

The winners of Friday’s matches will square off Saturday, May 15 at 1 p.m., in the second round for a slot in the NCAA Round of 16, which will be held at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex on the University of Georgia campus in Athens, Ga., May 20-25. At the conclusion of the team championships, singles and doubles championships will also be held at Georgia, May 26-31.

Atlanta Regional Schedule

Friday, May 14
Match 1: Mississippi (15-5) vs. UC-Irvine (13-10), 10 a.m.
Match 2: No. 14 Georgia Tech (18-9) vs. Austin Peay (18-3), 1 p.m.

Saturday, May 15
Match 3: Winner Match 1 vs. Winner Match 2, 1 p.m.

Single Day, Adult — $5
Single Day, Student — $3
Single Day, Child — $3

All tickets will be sold at the gate, which opens at 9 a.m. Friday and 12 noon Saturday. Fans may also call 1-888-TECH-TIX for details.

With the 2010 bid, Georgia Tech will be making its 11th-consecutive appearance in the NCAA Championships after never earning a bid prior to 2000. The Yellow Jackets are 19-9 all-time in NCAA competition and have advanced to the Round of 16 the last five seasons and won the 2007 title.

This marks the sixth straight season the Yellow Jackets have hosted an NCAA Regional, posting wins over Winthrop and Pepperdine in 2005, Southeastern Louisiana and Pennsylvania in 2006, Furman and Kentucky in 2007, Alcorn State and Tennessee in 2008 and Jackson State and Mississippi last season.

The Jackets earned their fourth automatic bid in to the NCAA tournament after winning the 2010 ACC Tournament.

Each of the top 16 seeds hosts a first- and second-round tournament.

Participants in the 64-player singles championship and 32-team doubles championship bracket will be announced and posted on Wednesday, May 5 before 6 p.m. (ET) at


October 16, 2019 Jackets Set for ITA Southeast Regional

Georgia Tech women’s tennis heads to Tallahassee, Fla., for ITA Southeast Regionals

Jackets Set for ITA Southeast Regional
October 11, 2019 Jones Concludes ITA All-American Championships

Georgia Tech women’s tennis senior Kenya Jones splits pair of matches on Friday

Jones Concludes ITA All-American Championships
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets