Tuminello Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

May 1, 2007

Georgia Tech center Kevin Tuminello has been named to the Spring Watch List for the 2007 Rimington Trophy as the nation’s top center.

A senior from Youngstown, Ohio, Tuminello enters his third season as the starting center for the Yellow Jackets. He has helped Tech to productive rushing offenses the last two years, paving the way for Atlantic Coast Conference rushing leader Tashard Choice in 2006.

Tuminello is a two-time Academic All-ACC selection who was recently awarded the Bobby Dodd Scholarship as Tech’s top returning male scholar-athlete.

The eight-year-old Rimington Trophy is presented by Canon, Cornhusker Marriott, and Logitech. The award is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. West Virginia’s Dan Mozes (2006 winner), Minnesota’s Greg Eslinger, Michigan’s David Baas (2004 co-winner), LSU’s Ben Wilkerson (2004 co-winner), Virginia Tech’s Jake Grove, Miami’s Brett Romberg, Ohio State’s LeCharles Bentley, and Nebraska’s Dominic Raiola are past recipients. Esiason created his foundation in 1993 to support research and treatment of cystic fibrosis. Esiason and Dave Rimington were teammates on the Cincinnati Bengals from 1984-87. Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus first team All- America center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982 during which he became the John Outland Trophy’s only double winner as the nation’s premiere college interior lineman.

The winner will be honored at an awards banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska in January of 2008.

Although no Tech player has won the award, Yellow Jacket center Hugh Reilly was a finalist in 2003.



Tuminello Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List
January 16, 2019 2019 Football Schedule, Ticket Prices Finalized

Georgia Tech to host seven games at Bobby Dodd Stadium in Geoff Collins’ first season at the helm

Tuminello Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List
January 15, 2019 #TGW: Fun Shui

Coordinator Dave Patenaude sees only positives in Georgia Tech's offensive future