Open mobile menu

Three Yellow Jackets Named ACC Postgraduate Scholars

Feb. 19, 2008

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Forty Atlantic Coast Conference scholar-athletes, including three from Georgia Tech, have been named recipients of postgraduate scholarships, announced by Commissioner John D. Swofford.

Georgia Tech seniors David Herren (men’s track/cross country), Kristi Miller (women’s tennis) and Taylor Narewski (men’s track & field) will join other ACC recipients April 16th for a luncheon at the Koury Convention Center.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan and Jim and Pat Thacker scholarships are given to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate-level degree following graduation. Each recipient will receive $5,000 to use towards graduate education. Student-athletes receiving the award have performed with distinction in both the classroom and in their respective sports, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

Herren, who received his bachelor’s degree in biology last May, is a four-time ACC Academic Honor Roll selection for achieving a 3.0 GPA or better each year at Georgia Tech. Herren (Rome, Ga.), who recently broke 4:14 in the mile, is a veteran leader on the 27th-ranked Yellow Jackets.

Miller, who has maintained a perfect 4.0 GPA, was instrumental in leading Georgia Tech to the NCAA Women’s Tennis Championship last spring. Tech’s all-time record holder in both singles and doubles victories, Miller (Marysville, Mich.) won the prestigious Honda Award in 2006. She also helped the Yellow Jackets win their second straight ITA Indoor National Championship earlier this winter.

Narewski, a four-time ACC Academic Honor Roll selection, earned his bachelor’s degree in public policy in May, 2007. Narewski (Birmingham, Ala.) is a sprinter for the nationally-ranked Yellow Jackets and serves as vice-chair of Tech’s Honor Advisory Council.

In addition to those receiving scholarship funds, six student-athletes will receive Weaver-James-Corrigan Honorary Awards. These students will be recognized for their outstanding performance in both athletic competition and the classroom throughout their collegiate careers and intend to compete at the Olympic or professional level.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James as well as Gene Corrigan, all former ACC commissioners. The league’s first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954 to 1970 after a stint as the Director of Athletics at Wake Forest University. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.

Robert C. James, a former University of Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletics and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.

Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner on September 1, 1987, and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan’s tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles. Prior to 1994, the Weaver-James postgraduate scholarships were given as separate honors. The Jim Weaver award, which originated in 1970, recognized exceptional achievement on the playing field and in the classroom, while the Bob James award, established in 1987, also honored outstanding student-athletes.

The Thacker award, which originated in 2005, is awarded in honor of the late Jim and Pat Thacker of Charlotte, N.C. Jim Thacker was the primary play-by-play announcer for the ACC’s first television network. Recipients of the award must demonstrate outstanding performance both in athletic competition and in the classroom and intend to further their education through post-graduate studies at an ACC institution.

Weaver-James-Corrigan Award Recipients are as follows: Boston College – Abigail Hasebroock (volleyball), Kia McNeill (soccer), Caitlyn Young (field hockey); Clemson – Cliff Hammonds (basketball), Elizabeth Jobe (soccer); Duke – Patrick Bailey (football), Alexis Hausfeld (volleyball); Florida State – Kandia Batchelor (track & field), Whitney Brummett (golf), Abbie King (swimming & diving); Georgia Tech – David Herren (track & field, cross country), Kristi Miller (tennis), Taylor Narewski (track & field); Maryland – Oluwatoni Aluko (track & field), Beth Gillming (volleyball), Gretchen Kittelberger (gymnastics); Miami – Jonathan Stratton (basketball); North Carolina – Ariel Harris (soccer), Tyra Johnson (track & field), Heather Kendell (field hockey); NC State – Chris Kollar (cross country), Luke Lathan (football); Virginia – Mary Eddy (rowing), Sarah Kirkwood (volleyball), Rebecca Sauerbrunn (soccer); Virginia Tech – Jennifer Albrecht (volleyball), Jessica Botzum (swimming & diving), Mary Elizabeth Newton (soccer); Wake Forest – Caitlin Chrisman (track & field), Ben Hunter (baseball), Julian Valentin (soccer). Jim and Pat Thacker Award Recipients are as follows: Clemson – Meghan Steiner (volleyball); Duke – Anthony McDevitt (lacrosse); NC State – John Crews (cross country).

Weaver-James-Corrigan Honorary Award Recipients are as follows: Duke – Jennifer Pandolfi (golf); Maryland – Crystal Langhorne (basketball); North Carolina – Rachel Dawson (field hockey); NC State – Stephen Hauschka (football); Virginia – Michael Thomas Santi, Jr. (football); Virginia Tech – Angela Tincher (softball).


Men's Track & Field Track & Field Ends Weekend at Vanderbilt & Clemson

Jackets conclude eventful weekend on the road

Track & Field Ends Weekend at Vanderbilt & Clemson
Men's Track & Field Tech Concludes Day One at Vanderbilt, Boston, and Clemson

Jackets conclude eventful day of competition

Tech Concludes Day One at Vanderbilt, Boston, and Clemson
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Legends Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets