Three Jackets Make All-ACC Academic Men's Tennis Team

July 7, 2010

Greensboro, N.C. – Guillermo Gomez, Kevin King and Ryan Smith were each named to the Atlantic Coast Conference’s 2010 All-ACC Academic Team, announced Wednesday by Commissioner John D. Swofford.

Gomez, a junior Industrial Engineering major, and Smith, a junior Biochemistry major, each made the team for the third time. King, a sophomore Mechanical Engineering major, was named for the second time.

Gomez, ranked No. 5 in the final Intercollegiate Tennis Association singles rankings and an All-American for the second time, and King, ranked 97th, also made the All-ACC team this spring.

Gomez, from Alicante, Spain, compiled a 29-8 singles record and reached the round of 16 at the NCAA Singles Championship. King, from Peachtree City, Ga., had a singles record of 12-6 playing No. 2 in an injury-shortened spring and also went 10-6 in doubles, teaming with freshman Juan Spir as the nation’s 83rd-ranked doubles team.

Smith, from Marietta, Ga., was primarily a doubles player for the Yellow Jackets, teaming with Eliot Potvin to go 8-2 in the spring.

Florida State senior Jean-Yves Aubone has been named the ACC’s Men’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Other 2010 All-ACC players joining Aubone on this year’s All-ACC Academic Team are FSU teammate Vahid Mirzadeh, Boston College’s Akash Muppidi, Virginia’s Sanam Singh and Virginia Tech’s Luka Somen.

The 2010 Men’s Tennis All-ACC Academic team includes 13 student-athletes who have earned the honor on at least one previous occasion, including four-time honoree Dylan Arnould of Duke and three-time honorees Singh of Virginia, and Gomez and Ryan Smith of Georgia Tech. To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

2010 Men’s Tennis All-ACC Academic Team

Name, School, Class, Major
*Akash Muppidi, Boston College, So., Finance/CSOM
****Dylan Arnould, Duke, Sr., Political Science
David Holland, Duke, So., Psychology
Luke Marchese, Duke, So., History
*Jared Pinsky, Duke, Jr., Sociology
*Jean-Yves Aubone, Florida State, Sr., Sport Management (Scholar-Athlete of the Year)
*Vahid Mirzadeh, Florida State, Sr., Hospitality Management
***Guillermo Gomez, Georgia Tech, Jr., Industrial Engineering
*Kevin King, Georgia Tech, So, Mechanical Engineering
***Ryan Smith, Georgia Tech, Jr., Biochemistry
*Christian Blocker, Miami, Jr., Accounting/Finance
David Simon, Miami, Sr., Economics
Akash Gujarati, NC State, So., Electrical Engineering
*Houston Barrick, Virginia, Sr., Government
Steven Eelkman Rooda, Virginia, So., Economics
***Sanam Singh, Virginia, Jr., Foreign Affairs
*Sebastien Jacques, Virginia Tech, Jr., Marketing
*Luka Somen, Virginia Tech, So., Finance
Corrado Degl’Incerti Tocci, Virginia Tech, So., General Engineering
Iain Atkinson, Wake Forest, Jr., Business/Enterprise Management
*Jonathan Wolff, Wake Forest, Jr., Psychology

*- repeat All-ACC academic honoree
*** – Three-time honoree
**** – Four-time honoree


Eubanks Atlanta Open First Round vs. Taylor Fritz
January 11, 2019 Former Tech Tennis Star Christopher Eubanks Qualifies at Australian Open

Eubanks to compete in his first main draw outside of the United States

Three Jackets Make All-ACC Academic Men’s Tennis Team
January 8, 2019 Men's Tennis Adds Pablo Schelcher

Schelcher joins 2019 squad; eligible immediately