Open mobile menu

Teegan Van Gunst Named Senior CLASS Award Candidate

Oct. 13, 2016

Van Gunst’s Senior CLASS profile

THE FLATS – Georgia Tech senior outside hitter Teegan Van Gunst is one of 30 NCAA volleyball student-athletes selected as candidates for the 2016 Senior CLASS Award, which were announced Thursday by the organization. Van Gunst is the lone representative for the ACC.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

A native of Fayetteville, Ga., Van Gunst has started every match since 2014 and is an AVCA All-America honorable mention, an AVCA all-region team selection and First-Team All-ACC honoree. This season she became one of only eight Yellow Jackets to eclipse 1,000 career kills and digs.

Off the court, Van Gunst has been a part of several community service initiatives including Girls on the Run, the Special Olympics, a mission trip to the Dominican Republic and the Friends of Jaclyn Foundation.

In the classroom, Van Gunst is a 2015 CoSIDA Academic All-District first team selection and a 2014 CoSIDA Academic All-District second team selection. She was named to the 2014 and 2015 Academic All-ACC teams, and is an ACC Honor Roll member in 2013, 2014 and 2015. She currently owns a 3.88 GPA in mechanical engineering.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2016 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December.


Inky Ajanaku, Stanford

Dani Mostrom, Wichita State

Jazzmin Babers, Texas A&M

Demi Muses, New Hampshire

Abby Bessler, Xavier

Meghan Niemann, Marquette

Jess Bird, Creighton

Kayla Ostrom, Lipscomb

Amy Boswell, BYU

Megan O’Sullivan, Fairfield

Katie Brand, Kansas State

Chloe Reinig, Michigan State

Hayley Farrer, Idaho State

Kadie Rolfzen, Nebraska

Claire Felix, UCLA

Keelin Severtson, New Hampshire

Tessa Fournier, Seton Hall

Ashley Smith, TCU

Janey Goodman, James Madison

Lauren Smith, Creighton

Carly Kan, Missouri

Hannah Tapp, Minnesota

Grace Kauth, Cleveland State

Paife Tapp, Minnesota

Hannah Klemm, Hofstra

Teegan Van Gunst, Georgia Tech

Valeria Leon, Ohio State

Cassie Wait, Kansas

Laini Leindecker, Albany

Taylor Whittingham, Southern California

For an inside look at the program, follow Georgia Tech volleyball on Twitter, @GTVolleyball, Instagram, GTVolleyball, and like the Yellow Jackets on Facebook, Georgia Tech Volleyball.


January 29, 2020 Four Players Named to Volleyball All-ACC Academic Team

Jackets claim four all-ACC academic honorees for the first time since 2016

Four Players Named to Volleyball All-ACC Academic Team
December 17, 2019 Jackets Claim NIVC Championship

Volleyball wins program’s first NIVC Championship with 3-0 sweep

Jackets Claim NIVC Championship
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets