Former Yellow Jacket Steve Raible Receives NCAA Silver Anniversary Award

ATLANTA (November 1) — Former Georgia Tech football standout Steve Raible, now an award-winning television news anchor, is one of six recipients of the NCAA Silver Anniversary Award, the NCAA Honors Committee announced Wednesday. The Silver Anniversary Award recognizes former student-athletes who have distinguished themselves since completing their college athletics careers 25 years ago.

Raible is the fourth former Tech student-athlete to receive this prestigious honor, joining former football all-America Larry Morris, who was honored in 1980, and basketball standouts Pete Silas (1978) and Roger Kaiser (1986).

Raible was an honorable mention all-America and all-Southeastern Independent as a receiver/tight end for the Yellow Jackets in 1975. A three-year letterman, he was an outstanding blocker who caught 24 passes for 342 yards and five touchdowns in Tech’s run-dominated, wishbone offense. He was selected as the tight end on Georgia Tech’s all-era team from 1967-79.

The two-sport standout also excelled in track, earning Georgia Collegiate Track Runner of the Year honors in 1974. He received a bachelor of science degree in industrial management in 1976 and was named Tech’s top student-athlete that year.

Raible was selected in the second round of the 1976 NFL draft and became an original member of the Seattle Seahawks, for whom he played six years as a part-time starter and special tams player from 1976-81. His career totals are 68 receptions for 1,017 yards and three touchdowns.

A news anchor for Seattle’s KIRO-TV (CBS affiliate) since 1992, Raible anchors the station’s 5 p.m., 6:30 p.m. and 11 p.m. weekday newscasts. He is a five-time Emmy winner and has twice been named Best Anchor.

Raible has also worked as the color analyst for the Seahawks’s radio broadcasts since 1982.

Active in the Seattle community, Raible serves as a spokesman for the city’s Ronald McDonald House. He has won the Outstanding Role Model Award from Big Brothers/Big Sisters and a community service award from the Boy Scouts of America and twice has been named the United Way Volunteer of the Year in Seattle/King County.

Also in this year’s class are Alpha Alexander, College of Wooster; Archie Griffin, Ohio State; Steve Largent, Tulsa; Lee Roy Selmon, Oklahoma; and Wally Walker, Virginia.


Former Yellow Jacket Steve Raible Receives NCAA Silver Anniversary Award
January 17, 2019 Podcast: From The Flats (Episode 16)

Host Wiley Ballard and special guests discuss the latest in Georgia Tech athletics

Former Yellow Jacket Steve Raible Receives NCAA Silver Anniversary Award
January 17, 2019 #TGW: It's All About Taking

Regardless of alignment, D.C. Andrew Thacker wants to put GT's defense in position for thievery