Nesbitt Named To O'Brien Quarterback Award Watch List

Aug. 4, 2009

FORT WORTH, Texas — Georgia Tech junior quarterback Josh Nesbitt was one of 33 named to the 2009 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, the O’Brien Selection Committee announced late Monday afternoon.

The award goes to the nation’s top college quarterback and focuses on accomplishments both on and off the field. Former Yellow Jacket Joe Hamilton won the Davey O’Brien Award in 1999 and Shawn Jones was a finalist in 1992.

Nesbitt is considered one of the top dual-threat quarterbacks in the Atlantic Coast Conference. He has rushed for more than 1,000 career yards (1,032) and is approaching 1,000 yards passing (901). Last season, his first as a starter, Nesbitt rushed for 693 yards and seven touchdowns and threw for 808 yards and two touchdowns despite missing two games with a hamstring injury.

The list of candidates is trimmed to a group of semifinalists Oct. 26. Finalists are announced Nov. 23 and the winner Dec. 10.

2009 O’Brien Watch List:

Sam Bradford     Oklahoma        JR     Big 12Jarrett Brown    West Virginia   SR     Big EastDaryll Clark     Penn State      SR     Big TenJimmy Clausen    Notre Dame      JR     INDAaron Corp       USC             SO     Pac-10Robert Griffin   Baylor          SO     Big 12Matt Grothe      South Florida   SR     Big EastMax Hall         BYU             SR     MWCTim Hiller       W. Michigan     SR     MACJordan Jefferson LSU             SO     SECColin Kaepernick Nevada          JR     WACCase Keenum      Houston         JR     C-USADan LeFevour     C. Michigan     SR     MACJake Locker      Washington      JR     Pac-10Ryan Mallett     Arkansas        SO     SECJeremiah Masoli  Oregon          JR     Pac-10Colt McCoy       Texas           SR     Big 12Kellen Moore     Boise State     SO     WACJosh Nesbitt     Georgia Tech         JR     ACCTony Pike        Cincinnati      SR     Big EastTaylor Potts     Texas Tech      JR     Big 12Terrelle Pryor   Ohio State      SO     Big TenTodd Reesing     Kansas          SR     Big 12Kevin Riley      California      JR     Pac-10Zac Robinson     Oklahoma State  SR     Big 12Riley Skinner    Wake Forest     SR     ACCRusty Smith      FAU             SR     Sun BeltJevan Snead      Ole Miss        JR     SECTyrod Taylor     Virginia Tech   JR     ACCTim Tebow        Florida         SR     SECAdam Weber       Minnesota       JR     Big TenJuice Williams   Illinois        SR     Big TenRussell Wilson   NC State        SO     ACC


Nesbitt Named To O’Brien Quarterback Award Watch List
January 13, 2019 Saint-Amour to Play in NFLPA Collegiate Bowl

Georgia Tech defensive end invited to perform for pro scouts at collegiate all-star game

Nesbitt Named To O’Brien Quarterback Award Watch List
January 12, 2019 Tech Great Coleman Joins Jackets’ Coaching Staff

Georgia Tech Hall of Famer returns to The Flats as DE/OLB coach