Johnson Named Finalist for Biletnikoff Award

Nov. 17, 2006

Georgia Tech wide receiver Calvin Johnson was named today as one of three finalists for the Biletnikoff Award as the nation’s top receiver.

The Biletnikoff Award is presented by the Tallahasse Quarterback Club. The winner will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 7 on the ESPN College Football Awards Show.

The other two finalists are Jarrett Dillard of Rice and Jeff Samardzija of Notre Dame.

Johnson, a junior from Tyrone, Ga., leads the ACC in receptions (52) and receiving yards (808) while ranking fourth in the nation with 11 touchdown catches. He has led 18th-ranked Georgia Tech (8-2, 6-1 ACC) to the ACC Coastal Division title and a berth in the Dec. 2 ACC Championship game.

The 6-5, 235-pounder is also a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award as Collegiate Player of the Year as well as a Top 10 Player to Watch for the Walter Camp Award.

Johnson was a semifinalist for the Biletnikoff Award last season. He is bidding to become just the second Georgia Tech player ever to win a national award; Joe Hamilton won the 1999 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.


Johnson Named Finalist for Biletnikoff Award
January 15, 2019 #TGW: Fun Shui

Coordinator Dave Patenaude sees only positives in Georgia Tech's offensive future

Johnson Named Finalist for Biletnikoff Award
January 15, 2019 VIDEO: Football Winter Workouts Begin

Yellow Jackets' first Competition Tuesday is in the books