Open mobile menu

Johnson, Barry to Defend Title in 2016 Chick-fil-A Challenge

April 13, 2016

GREENSBORO, Ga. – Head Football Coach Paul Johnson and former basketball star Jon Barry will represent Georgia Tech in the ninth annual Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament. The duo will compete for a share of a $540,000 total purse, and the team’s winnings will be split between a charity of the team’s choosing and an endowed scholarship at Georgia Tech.

The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge features pairings that include a university head coach and a celebrity or former athlete from the same school competing in a scramble format against other university teams from around the country. In the past nine years, the event has provided $5.3 million in scholarship and charitable contributions.

Team Georgia Tech has dominated the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge, winning four titles in the last five years. All told, the pair has taken home $682,500 in scholarship and charity winnings from the event.

This year’s edition, set for May 1-3 at the Reynolds Lake Oconee resort outside Atlanta, is scheduled to feature 14 teams and top national coaches such as Johnson, Urban Meyer, Nick Saban, Dabo Swinney, and many more. In special recognition of their coaching legacies, newly retired coaches Frank Beamer (Virginia Tech) and Steve Spurrier (South Carolina) will represent their former teams for the final time in this year’s event.

The field of competitors is scheduled to include three former winning teams including Paul Johnson and Jon Barry of Georgia Tech (2011, 2012, 2014, 2015), Steve Spurrier and Sterling Sharpe from South Carolina (2008, 2009), and Frank Beamer and Dell Curry of Virginia Tech (2007). Five of the participating coaches led their teams to New Year’s Six Bowl Games in the College Football Playoff last season, including Nick Saban and Dabo Swinney, who faced off for the National Championship. The lineup includes three Heisman Trophy winners, four Dodd Trophy winners, and two new teams from the University of Georgia and University of Houston.

Teams will be vying for the $100,000 first-place prize, with each team receiving a portion of the $540,000 purse. All charity payouts will be split equally between an endowed scholarship at each university and a charity of the coach’s choice.

The field of competitors for the featured event is projected to include:

 Alabama  Nick Saban  Chris Mohr  $228,333
 Auburn  Guz Malzahn  Bo Jackson  $100,000
 Cincinnati  Tommy Tuberville  J.K. Schaffer  $90,000
 Clemson  Dabo Swinney  Steve Fuller  $155,000
 Georgia  Kirby Smart  David Dukes  New Participant
 Georgia Tech  Paul Johnson   Jon Barry   $682,500
 Houston  Tom Herman  Andre Ware  New Participant
 Mississippi State  Dan Mullen  Fred McCrary  $160,000
 North Carolina  Larry Fedora  B.J. Surhoff  $115,000
 NC State  Dave Doeren  Terry Harvey  $150,000
 Ohio State  Urban Meyer  Jeff Logan  $80,000
 Ole Miss  Hugh Freeze  Wesley Walls  $182,500
 South Carolina  Steve Spurrier  Sterling Sharpe  $477,000
 Virginia Tech  Frank Beamer  Dell Curry  $355,000

The tournament will be broadcast on ESPNU in August and December. Specific dates will be announced this summer. For more information, visit


November 16, 2019 Virginia Tech Tops Jackets

Georgia Tech drops opener of season-ending homestand

Virginia Tech Tops Jackets
November 16, 2019 Photos: Georgia Tech vs Virginia Tech
Photos: Georgia Tech vs Virginia Tech
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets