Open mobile menu

Eight Yellow Jackets Named to All-ACC Team

ATLANTA – Four Georgia Tech football standouts were named to the all-Atlantic Coast Conference first-team, while more Yellow Jackets made the second-team, as selected by the Atlantic Coast Sportswriters Association.

Offensive linemen Chris Brown and Brent Key, defensive end Greg Gathers and placekicker Luke Manget were Tech’s first-team all-ACC selections. Tech’s four first-team honorees are its most 1991.

Quarterback George Godsey and receiver Kelly Cambpell Tech’s second-team selections, along with defensive end Nick Rogers and free safety Jeremy Muyres. Campbell was named to the second team at both receiver and specialist.

Members of the all-conference first team will be honored at the annual ACC Football Awards Banquet, Thursday evening at the Atlanta Marriott Marquis.

2000 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Football Teams
(First-place votes in parenthesis followed by total points received)

1ST TEAM - OFFENSEQB      Chris Weinke, Sr., Florida State (70)           140RB      Travis Zachery, Jr., Clemson (44)               104RB      Antwoine Womack, Jr., Virginia (37)             94WR      Marvin Minnis, Sr., Florida State (54)          123WR      Koren Robinson, So., NC State (43)              108TE      Alge Crumpler, Sr., North Carolina (34)         80OT      Chris Brown, Sr., Georgia Tech (53)             120OT      Char-ron Dorsey, Sr., Florida State (35)        85OG      Brent Key, Sr., Georgia Tech (55)               120OG      Justin Amman, Sr., Florida State (50)           116OC      Kyle Young, Jr., Clemson (46)                   106PK      Luke Manget, So., Georgia Tech (44)             1062ND TEAM - OFFENSEQB      George Godsey, Jr., Georgia Tech (0)            43RB      Travis Minor, Sr., Florida State (23)           74RB      LaMont Jordan, Sr., Maryland (19)               70WR      Kelly Campbell, Jr., Georgia Tech (28)          92WR      Rod Gardner, Sr., Clemson (13)                  74TE      Mike Hart, Jr., Duke (16)                       42OT      Tarlos Thomas, Sr., Florida State (26)          73OT      Brett Williams, So., Florida State (14)         49OG      Will Merritt, Jr., Clemson (15)                 57OG      Josh Lawson, Jr., Virginia (7)                  50OC      Jarad Moon, Sr., Florida State (15)             46PK      Jeff Reed, Jr., North Carolina (18)             57

HONORABLE MENTION (20 or more points) RB-Joe Burns, So., Georgia Tech (11) 43; Ray Robinson, Jr., NC State (6) 22. TE-Ryan Sprague, Sr., Florida State (8) 31; Billy Baber, Sr., Virginia (5) 24; Willie Wright, So., NC State (4) 21. OT-Jarvis Borum, Sr., NC State (2) 34. OG- Evan Routzahn, Jr., Virginia (2) 27; Theo Mougros, Gr., Clemson (7) 25; Montrae Holland, So., Florida State (4) 23. C-Melvin Fowler, Jr., Maryland (3) 27.

FIRST TEAM - DEFENSEDL      Jamal Reynolds, Sr., Florida State (65)         133DL      Julius Peppers, So., North Carolina (64)        132DL      Greg Gathers, So., Georgia Tech (47)            108DL      Terry Jolly, Sr., Clemson (23)                  85LB      Levar Fisher, Jr., NC State (60)                125LB      Keith Adams, Jr., Clemson (57)                  121LB      Tommy Polley, Sr., Florida State (41)           103DB      Tay Cody, Sr., Florida State (69)               139DB      Derrick Gibson, Sr., Florida State (46)         104DB      Robert Carswell, Sr., Clemson (35)              92DB      Alex Ardley, Jr., Clemson (33)                  86SP      Koren Robinson, So., NC State (43)              103P       Brian Morton, Sr., Duke (54)                    120SECOND TEAM - DEFENSEDL      Nick Rogers, Jr., Georgia Tech (13)             70DL      Darnell Dockett, Fr., Florida State (24)        67DL      David Warren, Sr., Florida State (17)           56DL      Kris Jenkins, Sr., Maryland (6)                 47LB      Byron Thweatt, Sr., Virginia (9)                56LB      Brandon Spoon, Sr., North Carolina (17)         55LB      Brian Allen, Sr., Florida State (10)            52DB      Clevan Thomas, Sr., Florida State (26)          79DB      Adrian Wilson, Jr., NC State (12)               51DB      Terrence Holt, So., NC State (11)               46DB      Jeremy Muyres, So., Georgia Tech (7)            34DB      Chris Hope, Jr., Florida State (8)              34SP      Kelly Campbell, Jr., Georgia Tech (13)          55P       Keith Cottrell, Sr., Florida State (4)          30

HONORABLE MENTION – DL-Ryan Sims, Jr., North Carolina (0) 46; Felipe Claybrooks, Sr., Georgia Tech (9) 30; Terry Bryant, Sr., Clemson (7) 26; Bryan Ray, Sr., Wake Forest (4) 25. LB-Chad Carson, Jr., Clemson (7) 37; Recardo Wimbush, So., Georgia Tech (6) 32; Sedrick Hodge, Sr., North Carolina (1) 24. DB – Errol Hood, Jr., North Carolina (3) 32; Tim Spruill, Sr., Virginia (6) 24; Chris Young, Jr., Georgia Tech (5) 23; Jamara Clark, Sr., Georgia Tech (7) 22; Shawn Forte, Sr., Maryland (8) 21; Tony Jackson, Jr., Maryland (3) 20. P-Brooks Barnard, So., Maryland (3) 23. SP-John Stone, Jr., Wake Forest (7) 26.


January 15, 2020 Tech Announces Football Series with Alabama, Georgia State

Jackets to play home-and-home against Tide in 2030 and ‘31, against nearby GSU in ’24 and ‘26

Tech Announces Football Series with Alabama, Georgia State
January 15, 2020 2020 Football Season Tickets On Sale Now

Home slate includes Clemson, Miami, Virginia, UCF and Mayhem at MBS vs. Notre Dame

2020 Football Season Tickets On Sale Now
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets