Open mobile menu

Durant Brooks Named Semifinalist For 2007 Ray Guy Award

Nov. 1, 2007

ATLANTA – Georgia Tech senior Durant Brooks was named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2007 Ray Guy Award as the nation’s top punter, the Greater Augusta Sports Council announced today.

Brooks was one of 56 punters originally nominated for the honor. Each of the punters was evaluated on overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the following categories: net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line, average return yardage, and percentage not returned.

Brooks is averaging 45.2 yards per punt, which ranks seventh nationally. His punting average, if it stood, would rank as the fourth-highest season average in Georgia Tech history. Brooks has two of the four highest season punting averages in Yellow Jacket history. As a team, Tech ranks first nationally in net punting, while only 12 of Brooks’ 41 punts have been returned.

Nineteen of his 41 punts this season have been downed inside the 20 and he has 41 career punts of 50 yards or more, including seven over the last five games. Brooks has nine career punts of 60 yards or more and had a career-best punt of 66 yards Oct. 20 against Army.

The award is named for Thomson (Ga.) resident Ray Guy, a 2004 College Football Hall of Fame Inductee and perennial candidate for the National Football League Hall of Fame. Guy, who played with the Oakland Raiders from 1973 to 1986, is, perhaps, the first punter who could change the make-up of a game with his kicking style. It is said “hang-time” was added to football vernacular because of Ray Guy, who was known for his soaring kicks and deadly precision.

This namesake award, created by the Greater Augusta Sports Council, was begun in 2000. Mr. Guy said about this year’s candidates, “It is obvious this outstanding group of punters have focused on team success instead of individual accomplishments. Everyone on our top-ten list have performed unselfishly, qualifying each to be worthy of being named the nation’s top punter.”

A national voting body of Division 1-A coaches, sports information directors, national media, and former punters will decide the three award finalists, and ultimately the winner of this year’s award. The winner will be announced live on ESPN during the Home Depot College Football Awards show, Thursday, December 6, 2007. The winner will again be honored at the Greater Augusta Sports Award Gala in early 2008.

2007 Ray Guy Award Semi-Finalist

Name School Class

Durant Brooks Georgia Tech Senior

Keenyn Crier Arizona Freshman

Kevin Huber Cincinnati Junior

Brett Kern Toledo Senior

Andrew Larson California Senior

Chris Miller Ball State Junior

Tim Reyer Kansas State Senior

Louie Sakoda Utah Junior

AJ Trapasso Ohio State Junior

Ben Woods Buffalo Senior


July 31, 2020 VIDEO: GT Takeover on Packer & Durham

Legendary Jackets Teixeira, Hamilton, Cremins and Jones join ACC Network morning show to discuss GT

VIDEO: GT Takeover on Packer & Durham
July 31, 2020 VIDEO: Brooks Earns Scholarship, Single Digit

Head coach Geoff Collins presents Sr. DL Djimon Brooks with scholarship, No. 0

VIDEO: Brooks Earns Scholarship, Single Digit
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets