Open mobile menu

Calvin Johnson Induction Ceremony Set for Tuesday

WATCH LIVE: 61st-Annual NFF Awards Dinner (Tuesday, Dec. 4 at 8:30 p.m.)

THE FLATS – Georgia Tech legend Calvin Johnson will be officially inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday evening as part of the National Football Foundation’s 61st-annual Awards Dinner at the New York Midtown Hilton. The ceremony begins at 8:30 p.m. and will be streamed live on WatchESPN.

Johnson is part of a 13-member class that was selected from a national ballot that included 75 all-America student-athletes and six coaches from NCAA Division I FBS and 98 student-athletes and 31 coaches from lower divisional ranks. He was a first-ballot selection and will become the 19th former Georgia Tech student-athlete or head coach to join the College Football Hall of Fame.

Georgia Tech director of athletics Todd Stansbury introduces Calvin Johnson at a reception honoring the ACC’s College Football Hall of Fame inductees on Monday evening in New York.


One of the most successful wide receivers in the history of both college and professional football, Johnson was a three-time all-Atlantic Coast Conference honoree and two-time first-team all-American during his three-year Georgia Tech career (2004-06). He remains the only three-time first-team all-conference performer and one of only six two-time first-team all-Americans in the 125-year history of Tech football.

He caught 178 passes for 2,927 yards and 28 touchdowns in three seasons as a Yellow Jacket and still holds six school records — receiving yards in a career and season (1,202 in 2006), touchdown receptions in a career and season (15 in 2006) and 100-yard receiving games in a career (13) and season (seven in 2006).

He was inducted to the Georgia Tech Sports Hall of Fame in 2016.

After winning the Biletnikoff Award and Paul Warfield Trophy (both presented to college football’s top wide receiver) and finishing 10th in balloting for the Heisman Trophy as a junior in 2006, Johnson was selected by the Detroit Lions with the second overall pick in the 2007 NFL Draft.

He went on to be a three-time first-team All-Pro (2011-13), a six-time Pro Bowler (2010-15) and two-time NFL leader in receiving yards (2011-12) in nine seasons with the Lions (2007-15). He holds four NFL records, including most single-season receiving yards (1,964 in 2012), consecutive 100-yard receiving games (eight), consecutive games with 10-plus receptions (four) and 100-yard receiving games in a season (11) and finished his pro career with 731 catches for 11,619 yards and 83 touchdowns.

Off the field, Johnson founded The Calvin Johnson Jr. Foundation, Inc., in 2008, which is dedicated to the education, training and social development of at-risk youth, along with providing financial assistance to community organizations. Since its inception, CJJRF has assisted hundreds of youth with limited financial resources “catch” their dreams on and off the field by awarding college scholarships to deserving student-athletes, offering free football camps featuring NFL athletes, feeding countless families in the Atlanta and Detroit areas and sponsoring toy drives that benefit homeless children and children of incarcerated women.

In honor of his extraordinary service to the community, Johnson was named the 2017 Walter Camp Man of the Year, joining a distinguished list of winners that includes Gale Sayers (Kansas), Roger Staubach (Navy), Don Shula (John Carroll), Warren Moon (Washington), Dick Butkus (Illinois), John Elway (Stanford) and Jerome Bettis (Notre Dame).

Calvin Johnson with his wife, Brittney, on Monday evening in New York.


William Alexander (Head Coach — 1920-44; Elected — 1951)
Maxie Baughan (Center — 1957-59; Elected — 1988)
Ray Beck (Guard — 1949-51; Elected — 1997)
Bobby Davis (Tackle — 1945-47; Elected — 1978)
Bobby Dodd (Head Coach — 1945-1966; Elected — 1993)
Bill Fincher (End/Tackle — 1918-21; Elected — 1974)
Buck Flowers (Halfback — 1918-21; Elected — 1955)
George Gardner (College Football Official)
Bobby Gaston (College Football Official)
Joe Guyon (Halfback/Tackle — 1917-18; Elected — 1971)
Joe Hamilton (Quarterback — 1996-99; Elected — 2014)
John Heisman (Head Coach — 1904-19; Elected — 1954)
Calvin Johnson (Wide Receiver — 2004-06; Elected 2018)
George Morris (Linebacker — 1950-52; Elected — 1981)
Larry Morris (Center/Linebacker — 1951-54; Elected — 1992)
Randy Rhino (Defensive Back — 1972-74; Elected — 2002)
Peter Pund (Center — 1926-28; Elected — 1963)
Everett Strupper (Halfback — 1915-17; Elected — 1972)
Pat Swilling (Defensive End — 1982-85; Elected — 2009)

For the latest information on the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets, follow us on Twitter (@GTAthletics), Facebook and Instagram or visit us at


November 27, 2020 The Last Word Before Game 8 vs. Duke

Georgia Tech football returns to host Duke in primetime battle at Bobby Dodd Stadium (TV: RSN)

The Last Word Before Game 8 vs. Duke
November 26, 2020 #ProJackets Football Report: Week 12

A weekly look at how former Yellow Jackets are faring in the NFL

#ProJackets Football Report: Week 12
Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Partner of Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets