Schniederjans a Semifinalist for Sullivan Award

March 9, 2015

Vote for Schniederjans

Lake Buena Vista, Fla. – Georgia Tech All-America golfer Ollie Schniederjans is one of 14 semifinalists named Monday for the 85th annual AAU James E. Sullivan Award, given annually to the outstanding amateur athlete in the United States for 2014.

AAU President/CEO Dr. Roger Goudy and AAU Sullivan Award Chair Melissa Willis announced voting is officially open today for the award. Schniederjans is joined on the ballot by Ohio State Buckeye running back Ezekiel Elliot and Olympic Figure Skating Gold Medalists, Meryl Davis & Charlie White.

A senior from Powder Springs, Ga., Schniederjans ascended to number 1 in the World Amateur Golf Rankings in June of 2014 and held that position throughout the summer. He was named to the Global Golf Post All-Amateur team for 2014 and is the reigning ACC Player of the Year and defending ACC champion, along with being voted ACC Player of the Year and making the All-ACC team for the second time in 2014.

Schniederjans was a finalist last spring for both the Ben Hogan and Jack Nicklaus Awards and was named first-team All-American by both the Georgia Collegiate Athletic Association (GCAA) and Golfweek magazine, while also being named to the All-Nicklaus team and an All-America Scholar by the GCAA. He was named recipient of the Mark H. McCormack Medal in August as the world’s No. 1 ranked amateur player for the 2013-14 year earning himself exemptions into the 2015 U.S. Open and the Open Championship as long as he remains an amateur.

The Tech senior would not be the first Yellow Jacket athlete to win the award, not the first golfer. Bobby Jones was the recipient of the first Sullivan Award in 1930.

Voting is open to everyone (sport fans, news media, coaches, family, friends) and is located at

Known as the “Oscar” of sports awards, and older than The Heisman, the AAU Sullivan Award has been presented annually by the AAU since 1930 as a salute to founder, past president of the AAU, and a pioneer in amateur sports, James E. Sullivan. Besides athletic achievement, the AAU Sullivan Award also looks for leadership, character and sportsmanship. Past recipients of the award include: Bruce Jenner (1976), Peyton Manning (1997), Michael Phelps (2003), J.J. Redick (2005), Tim Tebow (2007), Shawn Johnson (2008), and Missy Franklin (2012)

“We are excited to open the voting for this year’s AAU Sullivan Award with such an accomplished group of athletes,” said Dr. Goudy. “From a Heisman Trophy winner (Marcus Mariota) to a freshman center at Duke University (Jahlil Okafor) as well as the first female American luge athlete to medal at the Olympics (Erin Hamlin), this year’s class truly represents the very best in amateur athletics.”

Semi-finalist voting will close March 15. The top six (6) finalists will then be named. Finalists will attend the award ceremony on April 19, 2015 at 2 p.m. during which time the winner will be announced. Tim Morehouse, 1988 Olympic Silver Medalist in fencing, will emcee the event.


Georgia Tech’s golf team is in its 20th year under head coach Bruce Heppler. The Yellow Jackets have won 15 Atlantic Coast Conference Championships, made 27 appearances in the NCAA Championship and been the national runner-up four times. Connect with Georgia Tech Golf on social media by liking their Facebook page, or following on Twitter (@GT_Golf). For more information on Tech golf, visit


Schniederjans a Semifinalist for Sullivan Award
November 13, 2018 Georgia Tech #ProJackets Golf Report

Matt Kuchar notches 8th career PGA Tour victory, Werenski ties for third at Mayakoba

Schniederjans a Semifinalist for Sullivan Award
November 9, 2018 Schniederjans Named to Haskins Award Watch List

Tech junior golfer finished no worse than 6th in three fall events against difficult schedule