Marshall Named to Naismith Trophy Midseason 30 List

Feb. 12, 2014

ATLANTA – Senior Tyaunna Marshall has been named to the Naismith Trophy Women’s Midseason 30 list, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today.

The Naismith Trophy Women watch list is the third major award watch list Marshall has been named to after being selected to the Wooden Award’s preseason top 30 and the Wade Watch List’s preseason top 25.

Marshall became Georgia Tech’s all-time leading scorer last week after leading the Yellow Jackets to its first win against a ranked opponent since 2012 by scoring 32 points against #13/11 North Carolina. Marshall entered the game against the Tar Heels needing just 32 points to break Kisha Ford’s record of 1,955 points that was set in 1997. Marshall hit the 32-point mark in the contest after sinking two foul shots with 4.3 seconds left to not only break the career scoring record, but secure the Jackets’ victory.

She was most recently named the ESPNW National Player of the Week and the ACC Player of the Week. Marshall’s 1,980 career points has her just 20 points shy of becoming the first Yellow Jacket to reach 2,000 career points and is 23rd on the ACC career points list.

Marshall leads the Jackets in scoring, rebounding and steals, averaging 20.0 ppg, 7.7 rpg and 2.7 steals per game. She ranks second in the ACC in scoring, 10th in rebounding and second in steals, making her just one of two ACC players to rank in the top-10 in all three categories. Marshall also ranks in the top-10 in the Georgia Tech record book in points, rebounds and steals. Her 1,980 points has her in first while she is in eighth with 793 rebounds. Marshall has 261 steals, which puts her in fifth on the Yellow Jackets’ all-time steals list.

The Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year presented by AT&T will be awarded during the 2014 Women’s Final Four in Nashville. In March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to the four finalists.

Notable Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year winners include Chamique Holdsclaw, Lisa Leslie, Rebecca Lobo, and Tina Charles. The Naismith women’s Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the women’s college basketball player of the year. For more information, visit

The Yellow Jackets host Virginia on Friday at 7 McCamish Pavilion for its Play for Kay game. All fans that wear pink will receive $2 admission to the game. Please note the game was originally scheduled for Thursday but will be played on Friday due to the inclement weather in Atlanta.



Marshall Named to Naismith Trophy Midseason 30 List
November 13, 2018 Jackets Welcome Western Carolina for Midweek Matchup

Georgia Tech continues homestand against Western Carolina Wednesday night

Marshall Named to Naismith Trophy Midseason 30 List
November 11, 2018 Photos: Women's Basketball vs. App State

November 11, 2018: GT Women's Basketball 71, App State 53 (Photos by Danny Karnik)