Calvin Johnson Named Walter Camp Man of the Year

Nov. 23, 2017

THE FLATS – Georgia Tech football great Calvin Johnson has been named the Walter Camp Man of the Year, the Walter Camp Football Foundation announced this week.

The Walter Camp Man of the Year award honors an individual who has been closely associated with the game of football as a player, coach or close attendant to the game. He must have attained a measure of success and been a leader in his chosen profession. He also must have contributed to public service for the benefit of his community, country and his fellow man, as well as have an impeccable reputation for integrity.

In 2008, Johnson founded The Calvin Johnson Jr. Foundation, Inc., dedicated to the education, training and social development of at-risk youth, along with providing financial assistance to community organizations. Since its inception, CJJRF has assisted hundreds of youth with limited financial resources “catch” their dreams on and off the field by awarding college scholarships to deserving student-athletes, offering free football camps featuring NFL athletes, feeding countless families in the Atlanta and Detroit areas and sponsoring toy drives that benefit homeless children and children of incarcerated women.

One of the most successful wide receivers in the history of both college and professional football, Johnson was a three-time all-conference honoree and two-time first-team all-American during his three-year Georgia Tech career (2004-06). He caught 178 passes for 2,927 yards and 28 touchdowns in three seasons as a Yellow Jacket and still holds six school records – receiving yards in a career and season (1,202 in 2006), touchdown receptions in a career and season (15 in 2006) and 100-yard receiving games in a career (13) and season (seven in 2006).

After winning the Biletnikoff Award and Paul Warfield Trophy (both presented to college football’s top wide receiver) and finishing 10th in balloting for the Heisman Trophy as a senior in 2006, Johnson was selected by the Detroit Lions with the second overall pick in the 2007 NFL Draft. He went on to be three-time first-team All-Pro (2011-13), a six-time Pro Bowler (2010-15) and two-time NFL leader in receiving yards (2011-12) in nine seasons with the Lions (2007-15). He holds four NFL records, including most single-season receiving yards (1,964 in 2012), consecutive 100-yard receiving games (eight), consecutive games with 10-plus receptions (four) and 100-yard receiving games in a season (11) and finished his pro career with 731 catches for 11,619 yards and 83 touchdowns.

Johnson was inducted to the Georgia Tech Sports Hall of Fame in 2016 and is on the ballot for induction to the College Football Hall of Fame in 2018.

Johnson joins a distinguished list of former Walter Camp Man of the Year winners, including Gale Sayers (Kansas), Roger Staubach (Navy), Don Shula (John Carroll), Warren Moon (Washington), Dick Butkus (Illinois), John Elway (Stanford) and Jerome Bettis (Notre Dame).

Johnson will be honored at the 51st-annual Walter Camp Football Foundation awards banquet on January 13 in New Haven, Conn.

For the latest information on the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets, follow us on Twitter (@GTAthletics), Facebook and Instagram or visit us at


Calvin Johnson Named Walter Camp Man of the Year
December 12, 2018 Thomas Named True Freshman All-American

Also, additional all-ACC accolades for Braun, Harvin III

Calvin Johnson Named Walter Camp Man of the Year
December 10, 2018 #TGW: Keep The Main Thing The Main Thing

As Georgia Tech begins bowl practice, focus is entirely on beating Minnesota at Ford Field