Tech's Jimmy Robinson Inducted into Georgia Sports Hall of Fame

Feb. 28, 2016

MACON, Ga. – Former Georgia Tech wide receiver Jimmy Robinson was one of eight legends inducted into the Georgia Sports Hall of Fame during Saturday’s Class of 2016 induction ceremony. Robinson is the 58th Georgia Tech legend inducted into the Georgia Sports Hall of Fame and the fifth in the last four years.

The Class of 2016 included Michael Glenn, Chipper Jones, Patricia Roberts, Phil Schaefer, Hines Ward, Luther Welsh and Glenn Wilkes.

A multi-sport athlete at Atlanta’s Ridgeview High School, Robinson became a star wide receiver for the Yellow Jackets football team. He led the Jackets in receiving for three straight seasons (1972-74), finishing his career with 101 receptions for 1,633 yards and 13 touchdowns. Robinson was inducted into the Georgia Tech Sports Hall of Fame in 1981.

After being selected in the 15th round of the 1975 NFL Draft by the Atlanta Falcons, Robinson sent five seasons with the NFL. He played with the New York Giants (1976-79) and the San Francisco 49ers (1980). He led the Giants in receptions in 1977 and 1978, and later made history by scoring the first touchdown in Giants Stadium history.

He retired from the NFL with 85 receptions for 1,437 yards and six touchdowns.

Robinson has spent 25-plus seasons as an assistant coach in the NFL. After assistant coaching stops with the USFL’s Memphis Showboats (1984-85) and Georgia Tech (1987-89), Robinson has coached with the Falcons (1990-93), Indianapolis Colts (1994-97), New York Giants (1998-2003), New Orleans Saints (2004-2005), Green Bay Packers (2006-2010) and the Dallas Cowboys (2011-present).

In his final year with the Packers, he won a Super Bowl XLV championship as their wide receivers coach.

For the latest information on the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets, follow us on Twitter (@GTAthletics), Facebook ( or visit us at

Clint Castleberry (1956)
George Phillips (1958)
Ray Beck (1959)
Joe Pittard (1960)
George Gardner (1961)
Jim Nolan (1962)
William Alexander (1964)
Bobby Jones (1964)
Al Staton (1964)
Bobby Dodd (1965)
John Heisman (1967)
Buck Flowers (1969)
Frank Broyles (1971)
Joe Guyon (1972)
Everett Strupper (1974)
Bill Fincher (1975)
Larry Morris (1975)
Charlie Yates (1976)
“Red” Barron (1977)
Peter Pund (1977)
Doug Wycoff (1978)
Frank “Hop” Owens (1979)
Maxie Baughan (1980)
John “Whack” Hyder (1980)
George Morris Jr. (1981)
Roger Kaiser (1984)
Watts Gunn (1985)
Billy Lothridge (1986)
Buddy Fowlkes (1988)
Jim Luck (1988)
Randy Rhino (1989)
L.W. “Chip” Robert (1989)
Bill Curry (1992)
Hal Miller (1992)
Kim King (1996)
Pete Silas (1996)
Jim Breland (1998)
Walter “Big Six” Carpenter (1998)
Rich Yunkus (1998)
Antonio McKay (1999)
Lucius Sanford (2000)
Kent Hill (2001)
Wade Mitchell (2004)
Pepper Rodgers (2004)
Pat Swilling (2004)
Larry Mize (2005)
Mark Price (2005)
Taz Anderson (2006)
Bobby Gaston (2006)
Kevin Brown (2007)
Al Ciraldo (2010)
Joe Delany (2011)
Bill Ploeger (2011)
Reggie Wilkes (2013)
Bobby Cremins (2014)
Dr. Homer Rice (2014)
Bill Fulcher (2015)
Jimmy Robinson (2016)


Tech’s Jimmy Robinson Inducted into Georgia Sports Hall of Fame
December 14, 2018 VIDEO: Coach Collins - Week 1 at Tech

A look back at Geoff Collins' intro as Georgia Tech football's new head coach

Tech’s Jimmy Robinson Inducted into Georgia Sports Hall of Fame
December 12, 2018 Thomas Named True Freshman All-American

Also, additional all-ACC accolades for Braun, Harvin III