Miller, McDowell to be Honored this Weekend in New York

Aug. 19, 2008

ATLANTA – Georgia Tech’s Amanda McDowell and Kristi Miller along with other members of the 2008 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Star Team , which features the nation’s top-ranked players from the 2008 season and ITA/Arthur Ashe, Jr. Leadership and Sportsmanship Award winners will be treated by the ITA and United States Tennis Association (USTA) to a weekend in New York, highlighted by activities on August 23rd during Arthur Ashe Kids’ Day at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center.

These remarkable student-athletes are to be honored during a luncheon in the USTA President’s Suite during Arthur Ashe Kids’ Day presented by Hess. USTA President Jane Brown Grimes, ITA Executive Director David A. Benjamin and David Dinkins, former Mayor of New York City and a member of the USTA Board of Directors, are among those on hand to present the awards.

This 25th edition of the ITA Collegiate All-Star Team includes the nation’s top-ranked men’s and women’s tennis players from the season-ending ITA Collegiate Tennis Rankings at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and NJCAA levels, as well as champions from the 2007 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships and 2008 NCAA Championships. Highlighting this year’s team are ITA National Players of the Year McDowell and Somdev Devvarman of Virginia.

The following ITA women’s All-Stars will join McDowell: Brook Buck of Notre Dame, Siobhan Finicane of Pomona-Pitzer (Calif.), Melanie Gloria of Fresno State, Monika Lalewicz of Abraham Baldwin (Ga.), Tracy Lin of UCLA, Ani Mijacika of Clemson, Aurelija Miseviciute of Arkansas, Tinesta Rowe of Fresno State, Moacir Santos of Laredo (Texas), Delia Sescioreanu of Auburn-Montgomery (Ala.), Iuliia Stupak of Armstrong Atlantic State (Ga.), Kelcy Tefft of Notre Dame and Riza Zalameda of UCLA.

Along with Devvarman, the other men’s ITA All-Stars to be honored are: Jonas Berg of Mississippi, Robert Farah of Southern California, Michael Greenberg of Kenyon (Ohio), Alex Grubin of Concordia (N.Y.), Travis Helgeson of Georgia, Mislav Hizak of Embry-Riddle (Fla.), Treat Huey of Virginia, Oleksandr Nedovyesov of Oklahoma State, Erling Tveit of Mississippi, Kaes Van’t Hof of Southern California.

The national winners of the ITA/Arthur Ashe, Jr. Leadership and Sportsmanship Awards are also to be honored. This award which dates back to 1984, is given to NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and JuCo men’s and women’s players who have exhibited outstanding sportsmanship and leadership as well as scholastic, extracurricular and tennis achievements. 2008 recipients include Shefat Baishakhi of Lewis-Clark State (Idaho), William Blake Sherman of Meridian (Ala.), Jonathan Bowman of Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.), Trish Devine of Wellesley (Mass.), Dan Gal of Bloomsburg (Pa.), Natalie Kelley of Santa Monica (Calif.), Kristi Miller of Georgia Tech, Kelly Nugent of Bentley (Mass.), Lars Poerschke of Baylor and Josh Williams of Wheaton (Ill.).

– –


New Georgia Tech Tennis banner above court 6
November 15, 2018 Women’s Tennis Signs Gia Cohen

Georgia Tech women’s tennis signs three to National Letters of Intent

Miller, McDowell to be Honored this Weekend in New York
October 28, 2018 Jackets Post Strong Day at June Stewart Invitational

Georgia Tech women’s tennis collects six wins on final day of tournament